Holiday Green Gelatin Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I did not make this, but just wanted to add that our family makes this every thanksgiving and we put walnuts, crushed pinnalple, pineapple juice, and cream cheese and the jello liquid, and leave it in the fridge for a day and it is perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This is something my grandmother made every holiday and my family loves it! Granted I modified the recipe to replicate my grannys so here it goes, drain the pineapple, only use 1 box of jello (lime), no mayo. turns out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Yes I have. I used to make this for all our family gatherings over 20 years ago. It was a joke, but everyone gobbled it up. I had forgotten how to do it so I used this recipe. However, I changed it a little. I added a full container of cottage cheese and used Eagle Brand sweetened milk instead of evaporated milk. Upon tasting, I was pleased that it was like my old recipe. I didn't use nuts since some of my family is allergic. I think the extra cottage cheese makes up for it. All in all, I had a trip down memory lane and a very good jello salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
I lost this recipe from my mom. I serve it in the summertime as a side with a barbecue. The only difference is I add a teaspoon of horseradish. Double the mayo and omit the evaporated milk. I also use walnuts instead of pecans. It is my favourite jelly recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Collingwood, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Every Christmas eve, my grandma would serve this jello salad at her meatless dinner. When she passed, I inherited many of her handwritten recipes; this was not among them. I have been searching for this recipe and had been making versions of this salad for several years now trying to get it right. I knew the minute I made this recipe that it was 'the one'. The only difference is grandma used walnuts instead of pecans. This past Christmas, I set up this jello salad in a traditional bundt pan (just like grandma used to). Once set, I placed the bundt in the sink surrounded by warm water for 5 minutes, then flipped it onto a dish. Then guests used a pie slicer to cut themselves a wedge of jello. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linnie
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Nothing wrong with the recipe, but I'm the only one who liked it :( The green color scared the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Living In: Fircrest, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I made this recipe as a trial run for Christmas dinner. Very similar to the gelatin salad my mother-in-law used to make, and it was delicious. My husband couldn't get enough of it. Next time I think I'll substitute pears for the pineapple. Thanks for posting a recipe that holds wonderful memories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sahuarita, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SmileychefHeath
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Very good addition to Thanksgiving dinner. I didn't tell my family any ingredients bc I didn't want them to judge(they're NOT very adventurous eaters) .. big hit!!! Just the right amount of fruit as a side dish. Easy, impossible to mess up. P.S. i made it the night before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SmileychefHeath

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
My mother made this salad for the first time in the late 50's. It is called Sea foam salad and she made it for Thanksgiving and Christmas every year. I make it every year now for my family. I have never boiled the pineapple juice and used it because l was afraid the Jello would not set. I always boiled two cups of water and dissolved the Jello but this year,l will try the recipe with the pineapple juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
One of my family's favorite holiday treats. It has been a staple menu item at every Thanksgiving, Christmas and Easter for decades. (Except we use walnuts and chopped celery instead of pecans.) Just make sure you dissolve the gelatin properly, and give it plenty of time to set before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clvanderbilt

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Green Grape Salad

This dessert salad is creamy with bursts of grape flavor.

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Holiday Chicken Salad

The cranberries provide the seasonal punch to this tasty salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States