Holiday Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Simple and great tasting! My husband hates pimentos but asked for seconds of this recipe! I didn't use soy sauce or salt, and added walnuts. I steamed the veggies in the microwave, and then heated the mixture in the microwave, so it was extremely simple to combine and eat. Yummy, will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
The flavor of these over all was really very good. I cut the butter, lemon & soy in half and still used more than 2 lbs of green beans. Even cutting the sauce in half it was still too much sauce for us. I didn't have pimentos so I used red bell pepper, diced small. Hubby LOVED the addition of peanuts. I have some left over sauce and will try it on broccoli tomorrow. Thanks for an inspiring recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Simple and pretty colors for the holiday table. This was a hit for the whole family. Just wish there was a way to make the sauce stick to the beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Hubs and I both enjoyed these a lot! The pimiento is a nice addition, but I couldn't bring myself to add the peanuts, which just didn't sound appealing. Rather than steaming the beans I nuked them while I had the butter/soy mixture on the stove. I didn't bother refrigerating it overnight and I don't see how doing that would have necessarily been an improvement. Very pretty and nicely flavored.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
This is a great alternative to the canned mushroom soup recipe for green beans that many people use. Healthy, too. If you don't want to use the jarred red peppers, take red peppers, blacken their skins in the oven or on top of your gas range, cool, then slip the skins off. Adds another dimension to this dish. For my family because of garlic allergies, I sub onion. Dry roasted peanuts, salt free, and low sodium soy sauce can be used to cut the salt content a bit. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
This recipe is excellent. I used just 1/2 a cup of chopped peanuts and it was more than enough. Everyone raved over this dish and asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
I tried this recipe last year for thanksgiving, and the whole family raved about it, So much so that it has become part of our thanksgiving meal every year now. The only thing I changed was I didn't use pimento peppers and I didn't chop the peanuts I smashed them up instead. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
I love garlic and I loved this recipe! Decided to leave out the pimentos but did everything else the same as the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
We thought this was a different way to do green beans, but we substituted fresh red pepper instead of a jar of pimento it had a very good crunch factor with the frsesh red awsome bite with the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
This was a light and flavorful dish! So much better than the greenbean casseroles. The pimentos paired with the green beens make it very festive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States