Holiday Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
I used fewer pimentos and about 1/2 the amount of soy sauce, and raw peanuts, to cut down on the salt content and they were still delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
The family LOVED this recipe. I used pine nuts instead of peanuts (because my husband ate the peanuts the night before!). It was pretty, tasty, and perfect on the seasoning. Great small of garlic, too. Excellent recipe, thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
Got raves at the Thanksgiving dinner with this recipe and requests to make it again at Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
This was a light and flavorful dish! So much better than the greenbean casseroles. The pimentos paired with the green beens make it very festive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
We thought this was a different way to do green beans, but we substituted fresh red pepper instead of a jar of pimento it had a very good crunch factor with the frsesh red awsome bite with the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
I love garlic and I loved this recipe! Decided to leave out the pimentos but did everything else the same as the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
I tried this recipe last year for thanksgiving, and the whole family raved about it, So much so that it has become part of our thanksgiving meal every year now. The only thing I changed was I didn't use pimento peppers and I didn't chop the peanuts I smashed them up instead. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
This recipe is excellent. I used just 1/2 a cup of chopped peanuts and it was more than enough. Everyone raved over this dish and asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Hubs and I both enjoyed these a lot! The pimiento is a nice addition, but I couldn't bring myself to add the peanuts, which just didn't sound appealing. Rather than steaming the beans I nuked them while I had the butter/soy mixture on the stove. I didn't bother refrigerating it overnight and I don't see how doing that would have necessarily been an improvement. Very pretty and nicely flavored.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Simple and great tasting! My husband hates pimentos but asked for seconds of this recipe! I didn't use soy sauce or salt, and added walnuts. I steamed the veggies in the microwave, and then heated the mixture in the microwave, so it was extremely simple to combine and eat. Yummy, will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States