Holiday Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Hubs and I both enjoyed these a lot! The pimiento is a nice addition, but I couldn't bring myself to add the peanuts, which just didn't sound appealing. Rather than steaming the beans I nuked them while I had the butter/soy mixture on the stove. I didn't bother refrigerating it overnight and I don't see how doing that would have necessarily been an improvement. Very pretty and nicely flavored.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2002
Too much garlic, soy sauce is overpowering, and the peanuts were the worst thing of all. We tried this recipe because it sounded interesting, however out of a whole family of "we'll try anything" eaters-NOBODY liked this, absolutely nobody. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stryker, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
I used fewer pimentos and about 1/2 the amount of soy sauce, and raw peanuts, to cut down on the salt content and they were still delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
The family LOVED this recipe. I used pine nuts instead of peanuts (because my husband ate the peanuts the night before!). It was pretty, tasty, and perfect on the seasoning. Great small of garlic, too. Excellent recipe, thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
The flavor of these over all was really very good. I cut the butter, lemon & soy in half and still used more than 2 lbs of green beans. Even cutting the sauce in half it was still too much sauce for us. I didn't have pimentos so I used red bell pepper, diced small. Hubby LOVED the addition of peanuts. I have some left over sauce and will try it on broccoli tomorrow. Thanks for an inspiring recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Simple and pretty colors for the holiday table. This was a hit for the whole family. Just wish there was a way to make the sauce stick to the beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
This recipe is excellent. I used just 1/2 a cup of chopped peanuts and it was more than enough. Everyone raved over this dish and asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
Got raves at the Thanksgiving dinner with this recipe and requests to make it again at Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
Not much different from ordinary green beans, but they looked pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Simple and great tasting! My husband hates pimentos but asked for seconds of this recipe! I didn't use soy sauce or salt, and added walnuts. I steamed the veggies in the microwave, and then heated the mixture in the microwave, so it was extremely simple to combine and eat. Yummy, will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States