Holiday Eggnog Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
The taste is very nice however the cooking time for this recipe needs to be adjusted significantly! For the pie to set I had to cook it for approimately 35 - 40 minutes beyond what the instructions called for. I did make this with reduced fat eggnog and it still tasted rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
This is a subtle custard pie that takes care of the carton of egg nog sitting in your fridge. (My family seriously hearts custard pies and isn't big on rum/bourbon.) I'll make this again next Christmas, but as others have said, the recommended baking time and temp are wildly optimistic. My underachieving oven took over an hour and I cranked up the heat to speed it along. I think 375 or even 400 is a more realistic baking temp. I also did a partial prebake on my crust, but ended up overdoing it, so might not do that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KERYNE
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Great Recipe! I used a 9.5 inch pie to avoid the run over that other reviewers complained of and sprinkled the pie with nutmeg prior to baking. I also used a hand mixer to make sure that all of the ingredients were beaten together extremely smooth. The pie was perfect. Next time I'll back it like a creme brulee in a waterbath without the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERYNE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lake Ridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I made this recipe of eggnog pie for a New Year's Day open house. I made 1 minor change---I added 1 1/2 tsp of rum flavoring. This pie was the hit of the party and was not difficult to make which made it a hit with me. 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I found this recipe extremely bland. I added rum and nutmeg and it still came out very tasteless. Many of my party guests really enjoyed this pie, however I did not. Also it takes much longer to cook than 30 minutes; because of this I burnt my crust because I thought I would be able to make a buttery crust without the chance of it burning. In reality it had to stay in the over for about 50 minutes before setting, and by that time my crust had burnt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I made this just the way the recipe said to, and it was wonderful. I took it for Christmas dinner and received a ton of compliments. It tasted just like eggnog!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caledonia, Illinois, USA
Living In: Loves Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I made this last night and everyone loved it. I'm making it again today in a gluten free version for my husband who REALLY wanted it. I just subbed rice flour in the crust and arrowroot(or cornstarch) for the flour. It's true it does need to cook longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
A little too sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Scharf Rhodes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ontario, California, USA
Living In: Susanville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
must be cooked longer - maybe 60 minutes?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mindy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
This was a good pie. Tasted exactly like egg nog. It did take 60 minutes to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States