Holiday Egg Nog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
This is an annual make every Christmas. I skip the salt, but add in cinnamon instead. I use skim milk to decrease calories, and I think it tastes great...whole milk isn't needed. Especially if you serve with whipped cream and your alcohol of choice. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmhurst, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
This is a delicious and easy recipe. I do not drink egg nog but my family and guests do. I have made this several times and the only complaint I have received is that it is too sweet if you are not adding brandy. If you will not be using any alcohol I would suggest adding more cinnamon and nutmeg, or just add less condensed milk. It is perfect with more cinnamon and nutmeg. Very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
This is an awesome Egg Nog. Everyone at the Christmas parties this year just raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
This recipe turned out well with the thickness and taste of store-bought egg nog. I'm partial however to the varieties that use only egg yolks, milk , and cream. This wasn't bad. I'm very leary of uncooked eggs though and cooked the whole mix (minus the alcohol and one cup of the milk) over low heat in a heavy saucepan until the mixture started to appear thick like custard. I then removed it from the heat and poured in the last cup of milk and whisked well to remove any lumps. It still turned out great, yet was less risky with the eggs cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Governors Bay, Canterbury, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
I made this without brandy and it came out EXACTLY like egg nog! Delicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
This was good. I did not make it with the brandy made it for our family of 6. It was sweet but did not remind me of eggnog. It really tasted like the sweetened condensed milk. Maybe adding more milk and eggs would make it better. Just was a bit different for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Raegene Mendenhall Scott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Xenia, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
Make sure you use whole milk, not skim. That was my mistake. Otherwise, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
We usually drink light egg nog because of the calories and fat in regular eggnog so I used Borden's skim condensed milk and 2% milk instead of whole. It was delicious and so easy - thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
I just made this and thought it was pretty good. I like being able to control the amount of nutmeg. My son,(who is 4 and has been asking me for eggnog since last Christmas)on the other hand, told me "Yuck!", the store eggnog is better. Oh well, I guess you can't please everybody.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2004
I thought this recipe was too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Clover

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States