Holiday Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 27, 2014
I cheated and used boxed chicken broth, and Italian sausage instead of plain pork sausage. It came out great!! Again, I made this for my first attempt at cooking Thanksgiving for combined family, and scored very well! Everyone, even the family chefs asked for take home plates!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
This is by far the best cornbread dressing I have had ever had. I can't stop eating it! Instead of using boxed cornbread mix, I made the cornbread recipe from this site called 'Grandmothers Buttermilk Cornbread' it made all the difference. I also used white wheat flour and an 8oz package of turkey sausage with a little olive oil just to make it a little healthier, instead of the pork sausage. I'm sure it's even more amazing with the pork. It makes A LOT, so you can freeze some for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
This was a rich, flavorful dressing, however I had a big challenge with its consistency. Instead of "mushy" my dressing was soupy, and I actually used 1/2 cup less stock. I ends up baking it for 1-12 hours and butter was actually pooled on top. It was very greasy. If I make it again I will use half the butter and go way easier on the stock!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
A new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
this has now become our family recipe. Thank you Wonderful flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Excellent! Made this a couple of weeks before Thanksgiving as a test. Glad I did because I found out a few things. The cornbread should either be made from scratch or find a brand that does not use sugar. It was too sweet using the most popular cornbread mix. This type of dressing should not be sweet at all IMO. Also I chopped the celery too big. Another thing I discovered was the amount of chicken stock was dead on contrary to other reviews. I used a 32 ounce (4 cups) box of broth and it was perfect! The only thing I can think of that other reviewers are doing is not using enough bread. I use 16 slices of Butternut (keeping the crust) and had no problem at all with the dressing being soupy. It was moist and delicious. In sum, I would make my own cornbread with NO sugar in it. And chop the celery super fine via the food processor. And keep the stock at 4 cups. Doing this made my second batch pure heaven. My mom said it was better than hers and she was right (and I didn't think that was possible).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
This dressing is so delicious! All my guests loved it, and there were no leftovers. This is definitely the only dressing I will make from here on out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I loved this recipe, this was my first attempt at making dressing and my family loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
We love this, and the family requests it every year at the holidays. Even my husband's family who said they don't like dressing loves it. I had originally tried this recipe because it sounded very similar to the dressing my granny used to make. I make just a couple changes, based on how she did hers- I use half beef and half chicken broth, and instead of white bread slices, I use half a loaf of Italian bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Huber

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I love it and my family does too! I can definitely see this dish being a necessity during thanksgiving or Christmas time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Holiday Dressing

This savory dressing stars pork sausage and corn bread.

Oyster Dressing or Stuffing

See how to make the perfect Thanksgiving stuffing for seafood lovers.

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States