Holiday Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
This has a really good flavor. The sausage really sets it apart. I did not put my bread slices in the food processor, I just tore them into small pieces. I like my dressing to be "chunky style"! I think next time I will only use a half cup of butter and 3 cups of chicken stock because it was a little too moist for my taste but overall it is an excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Canyon Lake, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
Great recipe. I have made this 3 times now, and it's always a hit. I used light Jimmy Dean sausagae the last time and it was just as good. We have made this recipe a regular on the holiday menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
Fantastic dressing. Lots of prep work, but it really is a special dish that is worth the effort. I used the modifications suggested by BAMATT (posted 10/31/05) and thought they helped avoid mushiness quite well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
I made this for my thanksgiving guests and got RAVE reviews! I followed the recipe exactly and it was a real hit! I don't really even care for dressing and I even found myself going back for seconds! KUDOS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
WOW!! This dressing was the hit of our large THanksgiving gathering at my church! I was skeptical because I've never liked sausage in dressing, and I'm used to my mom's southern cornbread dressing, but this was terrific! I used sage sausage. THe only change I'll make in the future is to use less salt, maybe 1/2. Also, make sure you don't use sweetened cornbread mix. I checked the ingredients on all the boxes at the store for no sugar. Hard to find! Thanks for this delectable recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
I have NEVER made dressing from scratch but after this turning out so well on Thanksgiving, I can assure you that this is the only way I that I will make it ever again! The recipe was so easy and it was delicious - we didnt have any left! THANK YOU
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
My first time making stuffing w/o the box. This recipe was perfect from beginning to end. I used the bell pepper- it was fine. Changed the sausage to apple turkey sausage(from whole foods market) and upped the oven to 350. It was the best!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
I modified this recipe only slightly. I used dried parsley IPO fresh. I used Hillshire Farms smoked sausage and ground it up in the food processor. I used a small can of green chili peppers IPO the fresh green pepper. I used a can of condensed cream of celery soup IPO the fresh celery. I baked at 350-degrees for an hour. This dressing can be a casserole main dish all by itself. There are never any leftovers and the house smells great when it's cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
My family and I love this recipe for dressing and I have been making it for the past two years. Thank You
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
Very good recipe. Thanks for sharing. The only change I made was to use an 8" skillet of cornbread (in the South we don't use cornbread mix lol) I think it needs just a slight bit of tweaking to be perfect. #1--is mushy, so I think the cooking temp should be brought up to at least 350­° & possibly reduce the broth by 1/2 - 1 cup; #2--needs a bit more sage flavor, next time I will either increase sage by 1 tsp or use sage flavored sausage. (p.s..for those leaving out the green bell pepper, you are missing out on some great flavor, just chop it really fine & you will not know it is there) Update: I remade this recipe; I decreased the chicken broth to 3 cups, upped the sage to 1 tablespoon, used sage sausage, & upped the cooking temp to 350. IMHO those changes have made the dressing perfect (& now 5 star rated).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pelham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Holiday Dressing

This savory dressing stars pork sausage and corn bread.

Oyster Dressing or Stuffing

See how to make the perfect Thanksgiving stuffing for seafood lovers.

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States