Holiday Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
can I do turkey instead of sausage?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie “Jayme” Hass

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
I made this last Thanksgiving, and my in-laws are already asking if we're having it again this year. It's a little labor intensive, but worth every minute. I prepped everything the night before then combined the ingredients and cooked it the day of. Worked beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Clark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Wonderful recipe. Almost the same way I make mine. I omit the bell pepper, use 1 bag Pepperidge farms dry corn bread mix and 1 bag dried cubed white bread crumbs. Saves time and has seasoning in both. Only 1 egg because 2 seems to make recipe a little gummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
I to only used half the butter , and this recipe is perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
Perfect dressing for Thanksgiving. I use homemade cornbread and homemade whole wheat bread instead of the cornbread mix and white bread. Tastes amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steven Thompson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waycross, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
I cheated and used boxed chicken broth, and Italian sausage instead of plain pork sausage. It came out great!! Again, I made this for my first attempt at cooking Thanksgiving for combined family, and scored very well! Everyone, even the family chefs asked for take home plates!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
This is by far the best cornbread dressing I have had ever had. I can't stop eating it! Instead of using boxed cornbread mix, I made the cornbread recipe from this site called 'Grandmothers Buttermilk Cornbread' it made all the difference. I also used white wheat flour and an 8oz package of turkey sausage with a little olive oil just to make it a little healthier, instead of the pork sausage. I'm sure it's even more amazing with the pork. It makes A LOT, so you can freeze some for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
This was a rich, flavorful dressing, however I had a big challenge with its consistency. Instead of "mushy" my dressing was soupy, and I actually used 1/2 cup less stock. I ends up baking it for 1-12 hours and butter was actually pooled on top. It was very greasy. If I make it again I will use half the butter and go way easier on the stock!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
A new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
this has now become our family recipe. Thank you Wonderful flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Holiday Dressing

This savory dressing stars pork sausage and corn bread.

Oyster Dressing or Stuffing

See how to make the perfect Thanksgiving stuffing for seafood lovers.

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States