Holiday Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
This is really very good. Simple and wholesome, This was the perfect traditional Thanksgiving stuffing. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
This dressing is a WINNER! It's not just for holidays, it'll easily compliment any night when turkey or ham is the main dish. I did substitute the green bell pepper for a yellow one because no one in my family likes the green ones (including me), and it lacked nothing. It's moist (unlike many other dressing/stuffing recipes) and the flavors blend together so well in your mouth that you'd swear you were eating in a restaurant. Give it a shot, you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
A lot of effort but definitely worth it. Me and my wife think it's the best dressing we've ever had. I did only use 3-3 1/2 cups of chicken stock
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrew Davenport

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
This recipe is a good start, but if following the recipe exactly, I would rate it a 3-4 star recipe...it's too soupy, and not nearly enough cornbread or flavor. I've made some changes to turn it into a 5 star recipe. In fact, with these changes, this is by far the best stuffing recipe I've ever had! Modifications: 1) Crumble and use 1lb of cornbread. 2) Reduce bread to 8 pieces (I prefer sourdough bread). 3) Use 1 onion, 5-6 celery stalks, and 1 green pepper very finely chopped.4) Cut butter to 1/2 cup. 5) Increase sage to 1 Tbsp, 6) Use sage sausage 7) Cook at 350. 8) Reduce to 1.5 to 2 cups of stock. 8) Add 2-3 hard boiled eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slfortson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Great recipe! Okay, I made some changes because I rarely if ever follow a recipe verbatim. I added some leftover pureed pumpkin from my a homemade pumpkin pie, some dried cranberries and I made my cornbread and bread from scratch. But the foundation of my dressing remained true to this recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
I made this in my crock pot for traveling. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I love the flavor of this stuffing, but it was incredibly mushy. Whether you use a cornbread mix or a cornbread recipe, DO NOT use a recipe that is sweet or the stuffing will be very sweet. Make sure your bread is either well toasted or stale before sending it through your processor. Be sure to add your broth slowly (1/2 cup at a time). When you're finished adding it all together, the mixture will be moist - not wet and certainly not soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faythe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Delicious! I followed the recipe except, I used an extra slice of bread and I finely chopped the cooked sausage. I'll definitely make this for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shanika

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Enfield, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Good, but the second batch I also added 1/2 a red pepper, finely diced. And did 10 slices of bread with a crushed bag of seasoned croutons. Even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
I made this last Thanksgiving, and my in-laws are already asking if we're having it again this year. It's a little labor intensive, but worth every minute. I prepped everything the night before then combined the ingredients and cooked it the day of. Worked beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Clark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Holiday Dressing

This savory dressing stars pork sausage and corn bread.

Oyster Dressing or Stuffing

See how to make the perfect Thanksgiving stuffing for seafood lovers.

Holiday Hot Spinach Dip

Cheesy, creamy spinach and artichoke baked appetizer dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States