Holiday Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
This is by far the best cornbread dressing I have had ever had. I can't stop eating it! Instead of using boxed cornbread mix, I made the cornbread recipe from this site called 'Grandmothers Buttermilk Cornbread' it made all the difference. I also used white wheat flour and an 8oz package of turkey sausage with a little olive oil just to make it a little healthier, instead of the pork sausage. I'm sure it's even more amazing with the pork. It makes A LOT, so you can freeze some for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
This was a rich, flavorful dressing, however I had a big challenge with its consistency. Instead of "mushy" my dressing was soupy, and I actually used 1/2 cup less stock. I ends up baking it for 1-12 hours and butter was actually pooled on top. It was very greasy. If I make it again I will use half the butter and go way easier on the stock!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
A new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
this has now become our family recipe. Thank you Wonderful flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Excellent! Made this a couple of weeks before Thanksgiving as a test. Glad I did because I found out a few things. The cornbread should either be made from scratch or find a brand that does not use sugar. It was too sweet using the most popular cornbread mix. This type of dressing should not be sweet at all IMO. Also I chopped the celery too big. Another thing I discovered was the amount of chicken stock was dead on contrary to other reviews. I used a 32 ounce (4 cups) box of broth and it was perfect! The only thing I can think of that other reviewers are doing is not using enough bread. I use 16 slices of Butternut (keeping the crust) and had no problem at all with the dressing being soupy. It was moist and delicious. In sum, I would make my own cornbread with NO sugar in it. And chop the celery super fine via the food processor. And keep the stock at 4 cups. Doing this made my second batch pure heaven. My mom said it was better than hers and she was right (and I didn't think that was possible).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
This dressing is so delicious! All my guests loved it, and there were no leftovers. This is definitely the only dressing I will make from here on out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I loved this recipe, this was my first attempt at making dressing and my family loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
We love this, and the family requests it every year at the holidays. Even my husband's family who said they don't like dressing loves it. I had originally tried this recipe because it sounded very similar to the dressing my granny used to make. I make just a couple changes, based on how she did hers- I use half beef and half chicken broth, and instead of white bread slices, I use half a loaf of Italian bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I love it and my family does too! I can definitely see this dish being a necessity during thanksgiving or Christmas time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Good basic recipe but make your own cornbread and skip the mix. The preservatives in the mix give the "stove top" "right from the box" taste that some have complained about. Buy good quality, stone-ground corn meal, (Bob's Red Mill, etc) follow the simple recipe on the bag, and you will be so pleased with the flavor of your cornbread that you will never buy a mix again. Make a large enough batch that some of the cornbread can be the cook's breakfast while the rest goes into the stuffing. Warm buttered cornbread makes getting up in the wee hours to prepare the holiday feast much more enjoyable. (if you are a baker, make your own baguettes or whole wheat bread for the white bread portion of the recipe. I freeze a leftover baguettes and bread "heels." Double wrapped, they keep frozen for 3 months. You then eliminate all the bread preservatives and your stuffing will really taste like "Grandmother used to make.")
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emb

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Holiday Dressing

This savory dressing stars pork sausage and corn bread.

Oyster Dressing or Stuffing

See how to make the perfect Thanksgiving stuffing for seafood lovers.

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States