Holiday Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
This was very good! I took another reviewer's advice and used 1 pckg jiffy cornbread, 1 packg cubbison's seasoned dressing, and 10 slices of white bread. It was still mushy, so changes I will be next time will be to use 3 cups chicken stock instead of 4, and I would also omit the salt. The ground pork sausage gives it a great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This was my first time making a real "holiday" dressing. It was wonderful.I changed some of the spice proportions because a needed to make enough for 20 servings. I added spices to the cornbread to cut down on the sweetness, and also added more spices to the dressing itself. This is a real keeper. Will use this as my "go to" dressing recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShakerMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Being my FIRST Christmas to be the "grown up" and cook my own dinner for my family, I was very nervous that this would not taste like the one I grew up with. I was nervous about sausage being in there! I had never heard of it. The hubs is very picky but this recipe is great. I will use this every year from now on. Did not add green peppers. I doubled the spices... delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Big hit with the family! I made two pans but the first one seemed too mushy so on the second, I reduced the broth by 1/2 cup as others suggested and it turned out perfect. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Thanks for the other reviews. I doubled this recipe for a dinner with 20 adults, 11 kids. I cut back the chicken stock as suggested, left out the bell pepper, cubed the white bread instead of using the processor (used a full loaf for double the recipe. Cut it into cubes and then let it sit out over night) and added extra sage. It was delicious and the crowd was very pleased. Texture was moist (not dry or too wet) and hearty enough to chew. I did drain the sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
This is much like I cook. I have a little trick that really works well. I add all of the condiments to the cornbread before baking. It's tastier and easier. I would leave out the bell peppers also. Adding a couple of chopped boiled eggs are good. Welcome to Texas cooking!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
I had 10 people over for thanksgiving dinner and every one of them said this was the best stuffing they have ever had! I used a bit more cornbread and a little less peppers and maple sausage. Going to try it with chorizo for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
This was my first ever Dressing I have made and it turned out Perfect. I have had so many compliments on it. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Simplymel42
Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA
Living In: Mulberry, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This was an excellent dressing. Everyone raved about it. I will definitely be making this one again and again. Thank you for sharing it. I didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I was looking for something Grandma used to make when I came across this recipe. Very close! The only thing I did different was that I made a skillet of cornbread from corn meal as opposed to the corn meal mix. Very good! I will be making this from now on. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Holiday Dressing

This savory dressing stars pork sausage and corn bread.

Oyster Dressing or Stuffing

See how to make the perfect Thanksgiving stuffing for seafood lovers.

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States