Holiday Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Good basic recipe but make your own cornbread and skip the mix. The preservatives in the mix give the "stove top" "right from the box" taste that some have complained about. Buy good quality, stone-ground corn meal, (Bob's Red Mill, etc) follow the simple recipe on the bag, and you will be so pleased with the flavor of your cornbread that you will never buy a mix again. Make a large enough batch that some of the cornbread can be the cook's breakfast while the rest goes into the stuffing. Warm buttered cornbread makes getting up in the wee hours to prepare the holiday feast much more enjoyable. (if you are a baker, make your own baguettes or whole wheat bread for the white bread portion of the recipe. I freeze a leftover baguettes and bread "heels." Double wrapped, they keep frozen for 3 months. You then eliminate all the bread preservatives and your stuffing will really taste like "Grandmother used to make.")
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
I have been making this recipe for years. It is the only dressing I make for the holidays. The only changes I make is leaving out the green pepper and I use dried parsley. My daughter wants me to make it for her on her birthday every year. It is the best!! Have served many with this and everyone loves it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
This recipe was fantastic and everyone loved it!!!!!! This is my second time making it. The only change I made was the cornbread. My family is from Mississippi and Alabama and I did not make it from scratch, I would be shunned...lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Just like Grandma's... big hit at Christmas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JWoolworth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paxton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
I loved this recipe as did ask my guests, I added chopped mushrooms, I cooked the sausage in the oven while preparing mix and then food processed them with skin on because I had bought the wrong item, it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TiMbOs Mama1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Methuen, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
This is amazing stuffing, I used a little less broth and added 8 oz of mushrooms. My family absolutely loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This was good but dont add the full amount of chicken stock or you will have soup... I only had half and I will probably cut it down a little bit more next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Delicious! Use a little less broth and it is just about perfection. This will be a fixture with our Turkey Day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
This stuffing is so good. I wanted a less-traditional stuffing recipe for Thanksgiving, so I tried it...glad I did and I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mckeesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mattawan, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I took BAMATT's suggestions of lowering the amount of chicken stock to 3 cups and upping the temp to 350. Even then, the dressing came out really mushy - which I don't mind, considering this is my first try at homemade dressing. I don't own a food processor, so I ended up tearing the slices to small pieces and using a hand mixer to combine both cornbread and white bread. I added a little of the chicken stock to the bread mix in order to make it easier to mix. My final verdict on this - it's awesome. My only conundrum at the moment is figuring out how to reheat it for tomorrow's official dinner...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Holiday Dressing

This savory dressing stars pork sausage and corn bread.

Oyster Dressing or Stuffing

See how to make the perfect Thanksgiving stuffing for seafood lovers.

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States