Holiday Cranberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
This was a tough one to rate with my family. Most of my family aren't fans of cranberry sauce. My mom always wants it with a turkey dinner, but then she's the only one who eats it and I end up throwing out half of it. I thought maybe this would be something everyone liked. It turns out that everyone except my mom liked it, but they still didn't want it with their turkey meal (don't like sugar with the meal) and I still had to throw it out! It was good though. The only thing I changed was the proportion; a 12 oz bag of cranberries is only 3 cups, so I scaled everything by 3/4ths. Of course, 3/4 * 5 whole cloves doesn't give you something realistic, so I just rounded up to 4. I have a food mill that I use get the chunks out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plattsburgh, New York, USA
Living In: Tolland, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This recipe is just wonderful and I have gotten raves both times I have made it. I used a 12oz bag of cranberries, substituted orange juice for the water and added in the zest of half an orange. I also cut the sugar down to 1 cup and used light brown sugar. Finally, I added in a handful of chopped pecans (probably equal to 1/4 to 1/3 cup) a minute or so before I took the sauce off the stove. The spices and the orange zest really make the sauce incredibly flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRAVLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Youngsville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
This was a hit! I needed one more gluten free dish even though I nor my husband eat cranberry sauce. Not only did we try it, we LOVED it. First off, the spices really come through and makes it very flavorful. I reduced the sugar somewhat and it was still very sweet (though not overly sweet). Second, this recipe is super simple to make that if you never attempted to make your own cranberry sauce, you will do fine. I made minor modifications to the recipe (reduced the amount of sugar to 1.5 cups, boiled the water with the spices included then add the cranberries and cooked the cranberries for at least 30 minutes and popped those that did not pop on their own) based on other reviews. Also, I used a coffee filter and thread instead of a spice bag and it worked really well. I would highly recommend this dish (I created an account just to write a review for this recipe!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I boiled the cranberries in orange juice instead of water and cut back the sugar to 1 1/2 cups. Don on Recipe Buzz gave me the allspice substitute: combine equal parts of ground cinnamon, cloves, nutmeg, and black pepper. I used 1/4 teaspoon of each except pepper 1/8 in case it was too much. Just made it for Thanksgiving and again for Christmas. Easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This is the cranberry recipe I will use from now on, loved it. Only substitution I made was replacing half the water with tangerine juice and a dash of salt. Then after it was cold and set spread a thin layer of sour cream, mint leaves and whole cranberries to decorate. Thank you ALL RECIPES !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
A family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Great. 2013 tks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
I was honestly surprised by how easy and tasty this recipe was! Since it was just a few of us I reduced serving size to 4, which fit our needs. I also used 3 bags of mulling spices instead of the whole cloves, allspice and cinnamon sticks (since that was what I had on hand) and the flavor was still nice! I will definitely be making this again next year!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lunastar1311

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Been using this for a few years but this year I added a can of pineapple chunks along with the cranberries and it was yummy! I figured it would add more fluid to the sauce, and it did become watery and was not thickening but I added the rest of the sugar (1/2 cup) and simmered a little while longer and got it thick. Normally I only add a 1 1/2 c sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry Wood

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I used this recipe this Thanksgiving, and it was a big hit! I substituted orange juice for the water, and cut the sugar to 1 1/2 C. I also doubled the recipe so I'd have some leftovers. I put some of the leftovers in jars in the freezer to serve later with ham or sausage, and kept the rest to put on bagels with cream cheese for breakfast. The texture is very similar to cranberry preserves...not completely gelled like the canned version. I really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Mango Cranberry Sauce

See how to make mango cranberry sauce with a secret kick.

Tangerine Cherry Cranberry Sauce

See how to make a classic holiday cranberry sauce.

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States