Holiday Cranberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
I loved this! I only had one cup of fresh cranberries on hand, so I had to scale the recipe down to 4 servings. I really wish I had made more, because it only really made 2.5 servings for us and it was so good. I used my homemade vanilla sugar for this recipe, which added a little something special (and little vanilla bean specks). And I really loved the spices in this. They gave it a different twist. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
This recipe is terrific! Per others' suggestions, I did reduce the sugar to about 1 1/2 a cup. I will definitely use this recipe from now on. I've already received requests to make this again for Christmas. My husband said it had a real 'holiday' taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I couldn't stop sampling it on the stove last night - it's delicious - but it only needed a little over half the sugar. I doubled the recipe & used three cups of sugar & it was MORE than enough. I added a few tablespoons of orange juice & the zest of one lemon, too, which I think added a little variety of tartness to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
The flavors in this cranberry sauce are truly exceptional however I only gave the recipe 4 stars because of the 2 cups of sugar! I only put in 1 cup of sugar and it was the perfect sweetness for me (and I consider my tastes in cranberry sauce to be pretty average). I recommend starting with just half of the sugar and then adding more to taste if you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlebury, Vermont, USA
Living In: Mansfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
This recipe is awesome. No one, not even myself, enjoy cranberries. However, I thought I'd give it a go. I only used about 1 1/2 cups of sugar, and it should probably go up to 1 3/4, but any more than that and I think it would be too sweet. I used extra allspice and cloves because I enjoy the flavors. I also did as another review suggested: I hit a boil at high and then reduced it to Med. Low. I also cooked it for longer to allow it to thicken up a bit, and it did so as it cooled. All in all, a WONDERFUL recipe! My only complaint is against the cranberries themselves: the little 'woody' sticks that came out of the cranberries as they burst. Don't know what to do about those!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
Sooo easy and soooo good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
ive never been a big fan of cranberry sauce but this stuff was pretty good. I got a few compliments on the sace. I would reccomend this recipe to others, its also really easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
My roomate was a hit with this. I gave this recipe to her to take to her family's house for Thanksgiving and people that didn't eat Cranberry sauce were coming back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
I never made cranberry sauce before, and decided that I would make it for the family Thanksgiving dinner this year. It was a HIT. The only thing that I had to change is that when you first start cooking this, bring to a boil then reduce to medium heat and wait for the berries to burst. Otherwise it doesn't get as thick as you would expect. I figured this out based on reviewing other similar cranberry sauce recipes before making this one. I decided upon this one because of all the spices that were in this. They really made a delicious cranberry sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
183 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gwenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
This sauce had wonderful flavor and was easy to make. Turned out a little runny so I will play with it a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Mango Cranberry Sauce

See how to make mango cranberry sauce with a secret kick.

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

How to Make Cranberry Sauce

Learn how to make this quick, delicious recipe using whole cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States