Holiday Cranberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
This year is the first time I made my own 'stewed' whole cranberries for Thanksgiving (as opposed to the gelatinous mass from a can :). I used Splenda instead of real sugar, but I think I needed a little more than I used. This is a good recipe, but oddly, it was a little bland. (Seems strange to write that since cranberries are so tangy.) Next time I might try adding orange or lemon juice or zest like I read in some of the other recipes on this site and give it a slightly more multi-dimensional flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
I couldn't find a spice bag so I used cheesecloth, which kind of fell apart a bit. I had to cook it much longer than stated in the recipe. It had too much of a clove flavor for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
I don't even like cranberry sauce, but this is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
This was my first time ever making cranberry sauce from scratch. I have always used the can jelly to go with my turkey dinner. All these years I've been deprived of the real thing, just because of pure laziness. What was I thinking??? This year I used this recipe and it was phenomenal. I didn't changed a thing and it was so easy to make. Even my husband, who hates to eat "sugar" with his turkey, tried it and loved it. No more can jelly for us, ever. Thanks. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
I really enjoyed this recipe...People at Thanksgiving dinner said they really didn't care for cranberries, until they tried these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raytown, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
I made this recipe for Thanksgiving. It turned out really good. I wouldn't change a thing. The kids even loved it, not something I can say about other cranberry sauces!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
I loved this! I only had one cup of fresh cranberries on hand, so I had to scale the recipe down to 4 servings. I really wish I had made more, because it only really made 2.5 servings for us and it was so good. I used my homemade vanilla sugar for this recipe, which added a little something special (and little vanilla bean specks). And I really loved the spices in this. They gave it a different twist. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
This recipe is terrific! Per others' suggestions, I did reduce the sugar to about 1 1/2 a cup. I will definitely use this recipe from now on. I've already received requests to make this again for Christmas. My husband said it had a real 'holiday' taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I couldn't stop sampling it on the stove last night - it's delicious - but it only needed a little over half the sugar. I doubled the recipe & used three cups of sugar & it was MORE than enough. I added a few tablespoons of orange juice & the zest of one lemon, too, which I think added a little variety of tartness to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
The flavors in this cranberry sauce are truly exceptional however I only gave the recipe 4 stars because of the 2 cups of sugar! I only put in 1 cup of sugar and it was the perfect sweetness for me (and I consider my tastes in cranberry sauce to be pretty average). I recommend starting with just half of the sugar and then adding more to taste if you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlebury, Vermont, USA
Living In: Mansfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tangerine Cherry Cranberry Sauce

See how to make a classic holiday cranberry sauce.

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

How to Make Cranberry Sauce

Learn how to make this quick, delicious recipe using whole cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States