Holiday Cranberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I used this recipe this Thanksgiving, and it was a big hit! I substituted orange juice for the water, and cut the sugar to 1 1/2 C. I also doubled the recipe so I'd have some leftovers. I put some of the leftovers in jars in the freezer to serve later with ham or sausage, and kept the rest to put on bagels with cream cheese for breakfast. The texture is very similar to cranberry preserves...not completely gelled like the canned version. I really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Absolute rave reviews and a hit with everyone, even those who would never touch a cranberry without massive coaxing! Easy to make and well worth it- I've been threatened if I don't duplicate this during the next holiday. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mclean, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
This was excellent! My niece in law and I whipped up this recipe as I was disappointed with a few attempts on other recipes, but one previous attempted turned out well. BUT this one was soo delish. We easily exchanged the sugar for SPLENDA(R) with no problem and it was quite nice, thick and sweet with a little tartness. At our family gathering there happened to be 3 different types of cranberry sauce. 1 store-bought one and 2 that I made from here on AR, this one beat the other 2. As everyone preferred this one over the others. Will totally make again!! TY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Delicious! Unaltered!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maxine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
This is the second year in a row I've made this recipe! I love it! It's so easy to make and everyone always gobbles it all up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Make this recipe every year. I do cut the sugar to 1 1/2 cups and add a bit of orange extract. Family and friends love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
I followed the directions exactly and it came out all watery, even after cooking until the berries began to burst and keeping it for 20 hours in the fridge. (maybe I should have boiled it longer?) I assume I must have done something wrong because everyone else seems to have had success, but I am usually very anal about directions and exact measurements so I don't know where I went wrong. I wanted to post this to hopefully help others as I thought this was a no-fail recipe and it unfortunately failed me. So if you are planning this for a big dinner, maybe make a practice batch first so you know it comes out ok. I wish I had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
This is better when you substitute orange juice (w pulp) for the water. I also added a little (1 Tbsp.) of orange brandy with the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TERRIS911

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
I made this for Thanksgiving - at first I couldn't taste the spices - I canned several jars -later when opening a jar - I noticed right away. Very Good! Mahalo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakergirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anza, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Omitted the allspice berries (didn't have on hand) - this was fantastic and got rave reviews at Thanksgiving! A hearty twist to a holiday classic...will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tangerine Cherry Cranberry Sauce

See how to make a classic holiday cranberry sauce.

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

How to Make Cranberry Sauce

Learn how to make this quick, delicious recipe using whole cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States