Holiday Cranberry Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2003
Recipe submitter, here, with a few new comments. You can make this recipe with Splenda* brand sweetener. It's great, and doesn't mess with your insulin or blood sugar level. (course, the pinapple juices will, but hey..) Making punch with the drippings isn't optional, just so you know. I'ts fabulous. Mix it with homemade lemonade for a summery treat! You can adjust the marshmallow content to your liking. If you and yours arent crazy about 'those' salads packed with marshmallows, cut back. They're not really good for ya anyhow. And do use real cream, don't desecrate this recipe with miraclewhip* or anything like that. The fat is not really bad for you, read the book: "The protein power lifeplan" for good basic nutrition research. You'll be glad you did. (Look around; does america seem to have 'nutrition' down pat?) Good luck with the salad! It's yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sy Chandell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bandon, Oregon, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2003
Great Recipe! Fast and Easy! I wanted something tart and tangy for Thanksgiving and I got it! I had to use dried cranberries as the store was all out of fresh and even that worked great! Also, the walnuts provide an interesting texture for your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2003
We've had a very similar recipe in the family for years. It's easy and delicious and a perfect addition to Thanksgiving dinner. We usually use 1 cup of sugar instead of 2 cups, and it tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
I was unable to find either fresh or frozen cranberries (in February) in my grocery store. But I wanted to try this salad. I substituted a 1 pound bag of tart frozen cherries and followed the rest of the directions (omitting the nuts as my family requested). It turned out wonderfully! Just in time for Valentine's Day and Presidents Day when cherries are so popular. I put a small bowl of coarsely chopped walnuts on the table for anyone who wished to add the crunch of nuts. This was a hit. I have added it to my keepers. Thanks Chandell!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
Great salad for Christmas, everyone enjoyed it. Will make again soon! I did cut the sugar, and used fresh berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTYSON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2005
I USED 1 CUP & 3/4'S OF SUGAR..........ANF THAT WAS PERFECT....IT IS A VERY DELICIOUS SALAD!! IT WILL BE ADDED TO MY RECIPE LIST FOR SURE. IF YOU LIKE CRANBERRIES YOU WILL LOVE THIS SALAD!!!! EVEN IF YOU DONT IT'S SO TANGY SWEET GOOD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
awesome! just like my grandma's!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hardrockgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
Delicious! This is one of the best fruit salads I have had. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I brought this salad to the Thanksgiving meal and it was a real hit! I used 1 & 3/4 cup sugar as others suggested and sprinkled another tablespoon or so of sugar on the salad while it sat in the frig ready to eat and then mixed it all up once more before serving. Several people asked for the recipe - i take that as a good sign. I'll definitley use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
I made this for a Thanksgiving potluck lunch and it was a hit - everyone loved it. There was absolutely nothing left in the bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Holiday Chicken Salad

The cranberries provide the seasonal punch to this tasty salad.

Cranberry Salad II

This salad is bursting with fruit and nuts, and is a great holiday side dish.

Cranberry Mustard Salad Dressing

See how to make a tangy cranberry and mustard-based vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States