Holiday Cranberry-Pomegranate Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
awesome and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HereComesGrammie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Nokesville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This is the very best cranberry sauce I have ever had. Well worth the effort of deseeding the pomegranate. Left cinnamon sticks in overnight and made just as recipe specified. Will use every Thanksgiving!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
A favorite recipe! Sometimes I add mandrin oranges and/or a chapped apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
*This year I subbed POM juice for the OJ, took out the cloves & pomegranate seeds and added a chopped mango. In my 2nd batch I did the same but used a small can of manderin oranges instead of mango. yum!* Sorry this didn't work out for you Rachel. Yes, the poms are an acquired taste, I've been eating them for over 30 years....it's only now that they are getting popular. This recipe is MEANT to be quite spicy & crunchy....so you made it correctly. As per your suggestion, to make it moe "palatable" for your desired taste, removing the poms/spices, etc., what you find is the original recipe found on the back of just about any bag of fresh cranberries. Maybe you can start from there, then create something more to your liking. :) Use your imagination! That's where most fun recipes come from..."basic" guidelines plus your own "special touch". 11/6/10 A friend of mine just emailed me and gave me her version of my basic recipe! I haven't tried it yet, but I will! She substituted lt. brown sugar for the white sugar and 1 cup of peeled fresh FIGS, sliced in place of the poms. I just made a batch of this sauce for dinner tonight and tried it with apple cider in place of the OJ and 1 cup of chopped apples and pears. Oh my! Delish! This is basically a "do what you want to it" type of recipe. As long as the sugar and liquid stay the same as far as amts., it keeps it's consistancy. I would LOVE to hear how anyone else changes this up. Cooking is ALL about creativity and new ideas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice C.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
This cranberry sauce is the bomb! I have never been a great fan of cranberry sauce (but I always eat it with turkey), however, I was scooping this up and eating with a spoon all day. My immediate family does enjoy pomegranate, and even those extended and skeptical guys ended up commenting on how good this was. Hands down, this is the best, and is so good I made another batch just to eat (by itself, like dessert) the week after thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carwile2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gainesboro, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
This is our new "traditional" sauce! love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LissaKatt
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Go ahead and double this recipe, since it's sure to be polished off. I left out the cloves and used half the sugar for a sweet-tart sauce in which all the flavors really shine without being overpowered by the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
My husband and I have only ever had cranberry sauce from a can. Yuck. This year we wanted to make our own and give it a real shot. We found a basic recipe and went to do our shopping. We saw the pomegranates and looked at each other, clearly having the same idea. When we got back home I did the good ole google search and found this recipe. I just got done making it for Turkey day tomorrow and holy cow! It is phenomenal! We enjoy the flavor of cinnamon and clove, so it worked perfectly for us. If I could have, I would have given this a 10!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Putnam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hadley, Michigan, USA
Living In: Montrose, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Made this for Christmas dinner. I'm already having to make the second batch because it's been requested for leftovers! I made the recipe exactly how it was given here and I didn't take the cinnamon sticks out for 24 hours (right before serving). The spices were not overpowering at all for us. My next batch I'm trying the Grand Marnier some have suggested. Great recipe and a great way to introduce pomegranate novices to this delicious and unique fruit as we did with our guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
Healthful choice with the added texture of pomegranate seeds is a fantastic holiday "cranberry sauce". My family raved and I've made it just because. I made the recipe just as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie W.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Mango Cranberry Sauce

See how to make mango cranberry sauce with a secret kick.

Tangerine Cherry Cranberry Sauce

See how to make a classic holiday cranberry sauce.

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States