Holiday Cranberry-Pomegranate Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
*This year I subbed POM juice for the OJ, took out the cloves & pomegranate seeds and added a chopped mango. In my 2nd batch I did the same but used a small can of manderin oranges instead of mango. yum!* Sorry this didn't work out for you Rachel. Yes, the poms are an acquired taste, I've been eating them for over 30 years....it's only now that they are getting popular. This recipe is MEANT to be quite spicy & crunchy....so you made it correctly. As per your suggestion, to make it moe "palatable" for your desired taste, removing the poms/spices, etc., what you find is the original recipe found on the back of just about any bag of fresh cranberries. Maybe you can start from there, then create something more to your liking. :) Use your imagination! That's where most fun recipes come from..."basic" guidelines plus your own "special touch". 11/6/10 A friend of mine just emailed me and gave me her version of my basic recipe! I haven't tried it yet, but I will! She substituted lt. brown sugar for the white sugar and 1 cup of peeled fresh FIGS, sliced in place of the poms. I just made a batch of this sauce for dinner tonight and tried it with apple cider in place of the OJ and 1 cup of chopped apples and pears. Oh my! Delish! This is basically a "do what you want to it" type of recipe. As long as the sugar and liquid stay the same as far as amts., it keeps it's consistancy. I would LOVE to hear how anyone else changes this up. Cooking is ALL about creativity and new ideas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice C.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
Healthful choice with the added texture of pomegranate seeds is a fantastic holiday "cranberry sauce". My family raved and I've made it just because. I made the recipe just as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie W.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lojalita
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
The cinnamon was very overpowering, but I was able to fix it with some lime juice and added lime slices to garnish (see photo) and it turned out splendidly. It was the first dish to run out at Thanksgiving - and a made a double batch! My spouse even licked the bowl clean - after the guests departed, of course :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lojalita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
Superb - There's nothing like fresh cranberry sauce. The pomegranate adds a nice touch. I also mixed in 1/4 cup Grand Manier. A true hit at the Thanksgiving Day table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gigi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I made this for Thanksgiving dinner, and I'm sorry to say it wasn't very well received. The basic cranberry sauce is great, but the spices were too much. My husband and I tasted it right after cooking, and it was fine, so perhaps I left the cinnamon sticks in too long? (It was about 24 hours total to serving time.) But the next day it was definitely different, and it tasted like the cloves were too strong. I wanted to try using pomegranates in a cranberry sauce, and this was the only recipe I found, but they didn't add much in the end because the cranberry/clove taste was too strong. (Plus everyone that ate it said "Oh no, what is so crunchy in here? Are you supposed to eat that?" but that's not the recipe's fault they don't know what a pomegranate is.) My suggestiong would be to skip the poms all together and cut back the spices, and you've got a great sauce that I might try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
A favorite recipe! Sometimes I add mandrin oranges and/or a chapped apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
This cranberry sauce was delicious but several of my guests did not like the consistency of the pomegranates (maybe the one I got was not ripe enough, I don't usually buy them so I was not sure how to pick one). I enjoyed it and will use the leftovers with pork & chicken in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
Made this today to freeze for Xmas. Spouse and I don't eat cranberry sauce but we sure liked this. I replaced some of the orange juice with Grande Marnier. Very Good and will definately make again. Shirley
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
This cranberry sauce is the bomb! I have never been a great fan of cranberry sauce (but I always eat it with turkey), however, I was scooping this up and eating with a spoon all day. My immediate family does enjoy pomegranate, and even those extended and skeptical guys ended up commenting on how good this was. Hands down, this is the best, and is so good I made another batch just to eat (by itself, like dessert) the week after thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carwile2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gainesboro, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Made this for Christmas dinner. I'm already having to make the second batch because it's been requested for leftovers! I made the recipe exactly how it was given here and I didn't take the cinnamon sticks out for 24 hours (right before serving). The spices were not overpowering at all for us. My next batch I'm trying the Grand Marnier some have suggested. Great recipe and a great way to introduce pomegranate novices to this delicious and unique fruit as we did with our guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Mango Cranberry Sauce

See how to make mango cranberry sauce with a secret kick.

Tangerine Cherry Cranberry Sauce

See how to make a classic holiday cranberry sauce.

Cranberry Sauce

Make this easy, crowd-pleasing cranberry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States