Holiday Cranberry-Pomegranate Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
Healthful choice with the added texture of pomegranate seeds is a fantastic holiday "cranberry sauce". My family raved and I've made it just because. I made the recipe just as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie W.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Made this for Christmas dinner. I'm already having to make the second batch because it's been requested for leftovers! I made the recipe exactly how it was given here and I didn't take the cinnamon sticks out for 24 hours (right before serving). The spices were not overpowering at all for us. My next batch I'm trying the Grand Marnier some have suggested. Great recipe and a great way to introduce pomegranate novices to this delicious and unique fruit as we did with our guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lojalita
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
The cinnamon was very overpowering, but I was able to fix it with some lime juice and added lime slices to garnish (see photo) and it turned out splendidly. It was the first dish to run out at Thanksgiving - and a made a double batch! My spouse even licked the bowl clean - after the guests departed, of course :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lojalita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
My husband, toddler and I all very much enjoyed this sauce, and it's going to be a regular item at the dinner table from now on. The only thing I did different from the recipe was to pull the cinnamon sticks from the sauce after 3 hours instead of waiting a full 8 hours. It was spicy enough without being overwhelming, for us, at that point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
I have never tried to make a cranberry sauce. But this was so easy and the pomegranate is a nice addition. Family loved it and keeps requesting it year-round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SouthernAloha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I made this for Thanksgiving dinner, and I'm sorry to say it wasn't very well received. The basic cranberry sauce is great, but the spices were too much. My husband and I tasted it right after cooking, and it was fine, so perhaps I left the cinnamon sticks in too long? (It was about 24 hours total to serving time.) But the next day it was definitely different, and it tasted like the cloves were too strong. I wanted to try using pomegranates in a cranberry sauce, and this was the only recipe I found, but they didn't add much in the end because the cranberry/clove taste was too strong. (Plus everyone that ate it said "Oh no, what is so crunchy in here? Are you supposed to eat that?" but that's not the recipe's fault they don't know what a pomegranate is.) My suggestiong would be to skip the poms all together and cut back the spices, and you've got a great sauce that I might try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
This cranberry sauce was delicious but several of my guests did not like the consistency of the pomegranates (maybe the one I got was not ripe enough, I don't usually buy them so I was not sure how to pick one). I enjoyed it and will use the leftovers with pork & chicken in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
Superb - There's nothing like fresh cranberry sauce. The pomegranate adds a nice touch. I also mixed in 1/4 cup Grand Manier. A true hit at the Thanksgiving Day table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gigi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
Made this today to freeze for Xmas. Spouse and I don't eat cranberry sauce but we sure liked this. I replaced some of the orange juice with Grande Marnier. Very Good and will definately make again. Shirley
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
Actually, I haven't tried it yet, but it is very similar to the one I make every year for Thanksgiving and Christmas, and I intend to do this one this year, the pomegranite seeds sound like a great addition, plus I will try the cheesecake as well. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Thomasville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Mango Cranberry Sauce

See how to make mango cranberry sauce with a secret kick.

Tangerine Cherry Cranberry Sauce

See how to make a classic holiday cranberry sauce.

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States