Holiday Cranberry Chutney Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
This was devoured at Christmas when served with cream cheese and crackers. The only changes I made were reducing the sugar by half and using canned whole cranberry jelly because I couldn't find fresh or frozen cranberries for whatever reason. I tripled the recipe - to use as gifts - and still thought it was a bit too sweet. Fantastic overall. Great as a condiment as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Trumbull, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Cheryl, you are the Cranberry Queen! Here I sit, on the morning of our Thanksgiving here in Canada (October 12), and I'm in heaven! I wasn't sure about this recipe but was committed to diverting from the standard berries, water, sugar combination no matter the cost. I stayed with your recipe for the most part, though was shooting more for a cranberry apple sauce so used two Granny Smith apples and reduced the sugar by a modest 1/4 cup. Again, I wasn't sure about the idea of serving the chutney on crackers with cream cheese, but I had some cream cheese left over from making a cheese cake so decided to give it a try on regular Ritz crackers. Yes! Absolutely divine, no doubt about it. I used all the spice called for in the recipe, and with some tripidation I must say, but I've no regrets at all. The reviewer who insists that the spice is overpowering and that the use of cream cheese is a waste of time because the spice drowns the flavor? Balderdash! It's sublime. Highly recommended. And a Happy Thanksgiving to you Cheryl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MADSISTER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rocanville, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
This was EXCELLENT and I'll definitely make it again and again. We served it on top of cream cheese and used Triscuits to eat it. So delicious! I'm tempted to finish off the half sitting in front of me, but I'll resist. Anyway, this makes a sizeable portion, so keep that in mind when you make it. Definitely very, very good. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
Super easy and wonderful taste! I got raves over this at Thanksgiving, but would be wonderful with pork or poultry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shoefiend

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I wouldn't change a thing! I served this with Triscuit cracker and cream cheese - even the kids loved it and I had enough left over to serve with the Thanksgiving turkey. Update: Made this again for Christmas dinner to go with ham and used 1/2 cup water and 1/4 cup of orange juice along with some orange zest and 1 Tbsp. of orange marmalade - fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
Very good! I made this today to practice for Thanksgiving Day. I try to make things at least once before company comes over and eats them and let me tell you, this chutney is going in my permanent holiday recipe album and I will serve this every Thanksgiving and Christmas from here on out. Wonderful flavor, beautiful color, and it smells soooo good while it's cooking. I will make another double batch to give as gifts too. Thank you for a new holiday tradition recipe for my family, Cheryl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ecolter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manchester, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
Very good and simple to make and is very attractive. I used two granny smith apples for the tartness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gracehatter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
This is a wonderful recipe! It smells awesome while it's cooking, and it thickens up into this chunky yummy cranberry spiced goodness. Very good. I even accidentally left out the cloves and it's great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RachtheBach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jasper, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This was delicious and it smelled amazing while it was cooking. It was a perfect Thanksgiving appetizer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECKYBAX

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enterprise, Alabama, USA
Living In: Eagle River, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
Great recipe and very easy to make! Makes a great hostess gift for holiday parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States