Holiday Cranberry Applesauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
this is a nice healthy dish. the textured surprised me. I might go with a heavier sauce or straight out red pasta sauce next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I made this recipe for thanksgiving and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Best applesauce I've ever made. Quick & easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Mmmm.... Sooooo yummy!!! I've been eyeing this for a while. Now that apple season is at its peak (yea!), I decided to try this out. It's almost fall and I just can't WAIT any longer to make all of my seasonal favs - pumpkin & maple everything (lol!), apple pie / crisp, applesauce, cider, etc. The smell of this while simmering was divine (it does smell like Christmas!)! I must admit, it took me 2 batches to get this right.... Having said that, I have some CRITICAL tips to help you avoid what I did wrong. I followed the recipe exact on my 1st attempt. My applesauce was nearly mush, but b/c I left the skins on, I had to briefly pulse in my blender. My KitchenAid is VERY powerful. One pulse (to break down the skins) was enough to turn my "sauce" to "liquid!" For my 2nd attempt, I peeled my apples, cooked for 15 min. ONLY (I stopped after step 1), took everything off the burner, allowed to cool slightly & then GENTLY mashed w/ a potato masher. My applesauce was still quite smooth, but had an ever so slightly chunky texture (perfect!). NOTE: I could not find a bulk-sized bag of red hot candies. My grocer only sells the sm. 2 oz. bottles in the baking aisle at $1.99 ea. (ikes!). I opted to use a lg. box (think movie theater sze.) of Hot Tamales. One box is exactly 2/3 c. For my 2nd batch, I used 1 1/2 boxes (there wasn't enough cinnamon flavor in my first one, but 1.5 boxes was a bit too much... grr!). Thx. for sharing, Jean! I'm glad I tried your recipe. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
good recipe to build on and it is very healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
I took my time to read the other reviews before I made this. I used 6 pounds organic granny smith apples but kept the candies and juice the same. I cooked this in my slow cooker for one hour on high and another three on low. I'm glad I checked on it because it was done to the point of smooth applesauce with a faint chunk. The flavor is just right for our family, the right amount of tart and sweet, not too cinnamon-y. When I make this again, I'd do what I did before and maybe cut back on the liquid by a half cup and cut the cooking time back by an hour. That's not the recipe's fault, we just like a chunkier sauce. BEAUTIFUL sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
I have three daughters and I can never get them to eat cranberry sauce on Thanksgiving. I made this for a big dinner, 15 people, I tripled the recipe, and it was completely gone. I served it in a divided server with regular cranberry sauce on the other side and no one ate the regular kind. I will add this to my yearly dinner. Got several requests for the recipe and was happy to give it out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
I thought the Red Hot taste was a little overwhelming. The red color was nice for a change, but I don't think I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I enjoyed the applesauce. Served this for Christmas dinner. Only my dad liked it. Others thought it was too sweet or didn't like cranberry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KYLYNN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
This was so easy to make. I sliced, pealed and cored my apples, and after they were cooked the first 15 min or so took my immersion blender to it. It has the consistancy of applesauce with a very wonderful unique flavor. The red hots gave a sweetness without a "spicey" cinnamon flavor. I bottled it and gave it a "bath". Jars sealed nice and I can't wait to share it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tangerine Cherry Cranberry Sauce

See how to make a classic holiday cranberry sauce.

Chef John's Mango Cranberry Sauce

See how to make mango cranberry sauce with a secret kick.

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States