Holiday Cherry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
my husband thought this was the best cherry pie ever. I am not a big cherry pie fan and took a sliver and went back for the rest...,its that good. I followed the other comments and went with more brown sugar. I also used chopped pecans for the almonds (I am a pecan fan). I also used pie filling with the most cherries in it, not a time to by the cheep stuff. I will no longer make my own filling again. thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
This is the best cherry pie I've tasted. The only problem I had with the recipe is that when I baked the empty pie shell for 10 minutes, it came out shriveled and burned. Thank goodness they came two to a pack, and the pie baked up well without pre-baking the shell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I follow the recipe, just swapped nutmeg for cinnamon, and omitted the almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I have been making this for a few years now and it is always a hit! Do add more brown sugar. When I want something a little different I mix in a can of crushed pineapple with the cherry pie filling. It is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess124

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I make this for every holiday by request. I've never strayed from the recipe, however looking at previous comments I may increase the brown sugar in the crust for thanksgiving this year. This pie is good in all seasons and is a hit with everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
This recipe is extremely easy to make, and my guests loved it!! Between four of us, we finished the whole thing! I did take the advice and doubled the brown sugar and added 1/2 tablespoon of almond extract to the cherry filling. Served with homemade whipped cream and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Very yummy! I think this recipe is the perfect blend between cherry pie and cherry crisp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carlabish

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
This is BY FAR the best pie I have ever made or had. I cannot believe how yummy it was. We ALL went back for seconds! Great recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Made this for my neighbor's birthday. She said it was awesome! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Used your topping plus flax seed, wheat germ and oats, with frozen tart and sweet cherries filling from another recipe. Loved the combo. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States