Holiday Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
I have made this recipe for holidays for a couple years now. I also make it as a special treat for my husband, he LOVES these cookies, calling them the best he has ever had. I follow the recipe exactly and they keep perfect shape while baking making them easy to decorate afterwards. These are loved in my home!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimberlyb

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I tasted the dough before refrigerating it, and I then added a little more almond flavoring. It was better with that but was still lacking a little in sweetness for my tastes. I added a little frosting that I had on hand to make it sweeter. I appreciate that probably people who don't have sweet teeth like I do would like this more than I did. Thanks, though, because I know that there is always something out there for every type of taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Tried this recipe. Found it a little bland. Needs to be topped with frosting or sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I just made theses cookies today. This is a good base recipe. I added about 1/4 of a cup more sugar, and an extra teaspoon of almond extract. I pressed them with a potato masher (to give then a cute pattern) then put 1/8 of a teaspoon sugar on top of each, before baking. I think they turned out great this way. I also tried to make choclate chip, wallnut cookies with this recipe.... That did not turn out so well, they wouldnt cook in the middle or get brown. Also they tasted sadly bland, these are good butter cookies, but don't add any fillers it will be a disapointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
Great cookies! Perfect butter cookies with just the right mild buttery flavor, especially if using frosting. But they're good alone as well, and not bland at all! This recipe is a keeper. I also switched vanilla for the almond (nut allergies in the family). Doubled the recipe and made cut out hearts for Valentine's Day. They held their shape beautifully. I did have to bake them quite a bit longer though, almost 20 min, in order to get them lightly golden around the bottom edge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
these cookies are so yummy! i only gave it a four because they dont have much flavor but theyr really chewy and a perfect snack
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Okay, we just finished making these and my husband said I owe him two sticks of butter. These were very bland. Not enough sugar or extract. I know you can add to this, looks like most people added sugar or something. But at least these should TASTE good all by themselves, and sadly....they don't. They don't cut out well and we ended up using a press to shape and cut with a knife. Very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This was my first time making butter cookies and wanted a fun Christmas Day activity to do with my boys. I doubled the recipe but followed the recipe exactly as is. To my dismay I didn't have access to a mixer so I attempted to make them entirely by hand. From creaming the butter to mixing in the flour it was definitely work. Following the baking time as listed yielded cookies slightly too doughy for my taste, so I up-ed the baking time to get the crunch/softness that I preferred. The flavor was tasty and subtle - perfect for icing. I will make again & again in the future... but definitely with a mixer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendybird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I loved these cookies. They are not too sweet so they taste great with icing and marachino cherries on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
They have a pretty bland taste, but they are easy to spruce up and they came out perfct...even with a 2 yr old helping. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina Morgan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winter Haven, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies III

They taste just like the Girl Scout cookies with the peanut butter filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States