Holiday Ambrosia Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
The combination of flavors is good (I like coconut, so I added it too). However, the frozen whipped topping is way too much and it doesn't enhance, but rather spoils the taste. I would use half or even less of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Huge hit. I did use the crushed pineapple and omitted the coconut because no one except me likes it. I used to have this growing up, but did not have the recipe, so I had been making a different fruit salad for holidays. Not any more if my son has anything to say about it. He has been talking about if since Christmas. He came home from the store with his dad and brought home the ingredients to make it yesterday. It is as good as I remember.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
This is our new family recipe for special breakfasts. Everyone loves it and it's not insanely sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Made this for Christmas and everyone loved it! I really liked the different textures and the orzo added more depth to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Real popular with my guests at christmas. I had to give it away cause one of them loved it soo much! I think its pretty good but it was a little weird eating pasta in there lol. I might leave the flavor of the cooked sauce out and try it to see what its like with just pasta. Overall a big creative hit. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Yummy! This is the kind of dish you take to a party and hope no one likes it so that you can take it home and have it all to yourself! The next time I nwill increase the orzo to 12 oz uncooked. This is really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I use acini pasta in this. It is wonderful but Acini is hard to find in my area so this year i am going to try Tapioca pasta balls. Wish me luck i am sure it will be fine but we will see. Happy Thanksgivign all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harpursville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
Ok I opps'ed, I bought the crushed pineapple instead of chunks. It still worked out well. Instead of trying to drain the juice out I just added the pineapple to the pot too. I have had a variation of this salad with the pineapple chunks and I think I like it better with the crushed. What a great mistake this was. I also missed the part about letting it sit for 8 hours or overnight. I needed it in a couple of hours. If was just as good. I did make sure it was cold before completing with the mandarin oranges and whipped topping. This was absolutly the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
Delish. I made this w/o the coconut & there were no leftovers from a company potluck. I might add more mandarin oranges next time, but otherwise quite fab.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robinsky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belle Fourche, South Dakota, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Let me start by saying that I have never made an Ambrosia salad before and this receipe sounded good. I was easy to make, tasted OK but I think that my family & I were "thrown" by the texture of the pasta in the salad. I reminded me of tapioca and I hate tapioca. I didn't dislike this, in fact the leftovers (alot) are good, but I don't think I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Holiday Chicken Salad

The cranberries provide the seasonal punch to this tasty salad.

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States