Hoisin-Ginger Beef Skewers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
i made this meal last night and my roommates both think it was the best dish i've ever cooked them! i probably tripled the amount of ginger and garlic which i think the result paid off. in between beef i added small mushrooms, yellow and red peppers so they make a better presentation and it's healthier. do not omit sesame oil because it adds a great flavour. i also sprinkled raw sesame seeds on top before sending the skewers onto the grill, it turned out perfect, will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
Yummy, even my pickiest kid loved them. The marinade seemed to really soften up the steak as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
I actually found this recipe when I was looking for something to do with a pound of ground beef. I first saw another recipe for skewered meatballs so I was inspired and basically just took the marinade added an egg, some panko breadcrumbs and combined it all. I served the meatballs that I sprinkled toasted sesame seeds onto over steamed rice with a veggie stir fry and a bit of hoisin drizzled on top...yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaMia72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
I also was looking for something to do with ground pork and turkey which I use quite often as a duo. I added more garlic, some leeks and just a touch of sage. Delectable. Believe it or not, sage and hoisin meld well. My partner said it was the best combo of pork/turkey yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie 'n Ricki

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Wow, this was super tasty! I had a bunch of hoisin sauce left in my fridge and was looking for a recipe to use it up. Now I will be buying more so I can continue to make this dish. The marinade was really tasty, but not overkill - it was a really nice mix of flavors that went perfect with the flank steak. And the steak turned out really tender (I marinated for five hours). I didn't use sesame oil since I had none on hand, otherwise I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
These were really good. Next time I will set aside some of the marinade for dipping. Left out the salt and they were fine without it. I would not leave out the sesame oil, though. It adds a lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
These are wonderful but a little too sweet. Next time I would cut back on the sugar and honey. We will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I made these as Shish-kabobs along with Shrimp Kabobs, for a surf and turf on a skewer dinner, when family came for a visit. I marinated the beef cubes for two days, and threaded the meat separate from assorted Veggies, and Shrimp ( as all cook at a different rate ) I should have started the veggies first and had to finish them in the Micro....but the beef was a Hit with everyone. I used a sirloin rather than flank however, wanting the tenderness to be the best for my company. I will use this marinade again, and might make kabobs more often now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate56

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Canaan Valley, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
DELICIOUS!!! This will become a family regular! The kids thought it was a pinch spicy, but their taste buds need to become stronger and more tolerant of heat, so I will continue making as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
The smell of this marinate alone is a 5!! Made it for my dad for fathers day and he said at first bite, "This is a 5 for sure!!" Turned out wonderful and and to try this marninate on EVERYTHING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ives11

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beef Bulgogi

Traditional Korean beef marinated in a sweet and garlicky soy sauce.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States