Hoisin-Ginger Beef Skewers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I used 1 medium to large top round steak sliced very thin against the grain. I marinated the steak for 24 hours and decided to make a 2nd batch of sauce for dipping and because my boyfriend likes sauce on his rice. Only needed a minute or two on each side. I served with the japanese zucchini and onions and it was a great, quick weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnasBananas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Made as written and I have no complaints. I know a lot of people do not care for the taste of sesame oil but it plays a big part in the overall flavor of this dish. I do not recommend leaving it out or substituting something else for it. I personally like it and was impressed with this recipe. It was packed full of flavor and reminded me of beef jerky except warm, tender, and juicy instead. Thanks for sharing Pat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Great recipe! Due to personal preference I used extra garlic, ginger and sriracha and it was fantastic! I let it marinade overnight and it made the steak SO tender. I would recomend making extra marinade to simmer till warm and use as a dipping sauce. I served this with rice and steamed broccoli and my husband has already requested I put this meal into the "favorites" section. This would be great threaded onto skewers with veggies or on short skewers to serve as an appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alexis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orland, California, USA
Living In: Red Bluff, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Anytime there is a mixture of soy sauce, honey, ginger, garlic and sesame, I know I will be in for a treat! But adding in hoisin sauce gave this marinade a wonderful Asian twist. I left out the chile-garlic sauce due to family's request for a milder flavor. But I did add in a smidgen of crushed red pepper flakes. I added Hawaiian rock salt and fresh black pepper. I thinly sliced the 1.25 pounds of flank steak against the grain. I placed the meat along with the marinade in a large one gallon ziplock bag and marinated for 8 hors. Grilling the beef did not take long at all. While grilling I noticed the wonderful aroma from the meats! I also got the nice brown sear on both sides, which I like a lot. The meat was tender, juicy and sooo flavorful...Mmm. The marinate soaked right into the meat tenderizing it all those hours. It just smells wonderful, looks appeatizing and tastes delicious! We ate the beef skewers in silence licking all the marinades off of our fingers. My family ate this up so fast, I don't think they noticed the red pepper flakes I snuck in the marinade! This paired perfectly with, "Sesame Noodle Salad," from this site. The sesame noodles are delicious too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Excelent apps
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chefhenry

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Levittown, Toa Baja, Puerto Rico
Living In: Santo Domingo, Distrito Nacional, Dominican Republic
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Yum!!! I just made this for dinner and it was great. I was lazy and just simply marinated a flank steak for 1 1/2 days and then grilled. AWESOME!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Great taste! I only sprinkled in some red pepper so it wouldn't be to hot for my son and we all really enjoyed this for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimkim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Very yummy and easy. I didn't have time to marinate besides spreading it over the beef - still tasted great. I added green pepper and red onion slices. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
The smell of this marinate alone is a 5!! Made it for my dad for fathers day and he said at first bite, "This is a 5 for sure!!" Turned out wonderful and and to try this marninate on EVERYTHING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ives11

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
DELICIOUS!!! This will become a family regular! The kids thought it was a pinch spicy, but their taste buds need to become stronger and more tolerant of heat, so I will continue making as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Bulgogi

Traditional Korean beef marinated in a sweet and garlicky soy sauce.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States