Hoe Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2013
I mixed up a half batch and it was so thin (about like grainy thick cream) so I added half as much whole wheat flour as the cornmeal. Fried the batter (now about like pan cake batter) covered it with thick bean soup and it was very good. I would rate it as soul food. guten appatit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Sorry, I followed the recipe to a T but unfortunately I didn't care for these hoe cakes at all. Really gritty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatieCakes02

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
Added about 1/3 c. flour and let it sit a bit to thicken as suggested, and was pleasantly surprised at how good these were. Served them with a bean soup. They reminded me of the cornmeal mush my Grandma used to make when I was a kid. My daughter ate one with syrup and really liked it that way, too. My parents ate with us, and dad asked for the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I agree with the comment to let the batter sit a few minutes to thicken however, still, the cakes were thin and dense with a bland flavor. They may be better as a side to chili or as a crepe with lots of sugary, wet toppings. Guess we prefer our corn cakes fluffy and sweet. I will try other recipes until I find "the one". Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TinaMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sedona, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Foodie Family
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
quick and good. great addition to the hoppin john soup that i served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
we were on a tight budget w/ a bunch of pulled pork from my MIL.i found some dried pinto beans in the pantry. i made some from scratch stovetop baked beans w/ the pork. served them in a bowl and topped them off w/these awesome hoe cakes. i did add some chopped jalapeno from the garden and some leftover crumbled bacon to the cakes. turned out great. thanks for an inexpensive recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
This was a very simple and tasty recipe! I did have a little problem with the milk separating from the batter mixture, but that might have happened because I mixed the liquids into the dry ingredients, instead of vice versa. These cakes were tasty; my family liked them with butter and brown sugar. I tried sour cream and chives, which was delicious! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
These were very good! I didn't want to make a whole pan of cornbread to go with leftover Navy bean soup and I remember this recipe. I had never had a hoe cake before but it brought back childhood memories for my husband! I think they would be excellent in the morning drizzled with honey or syrup as well! I'll be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
I thought these were very tasty - excellent with chili! They are incredibly simple to make. My recommendation is to let the batter sit for several minutes before dropping onto the hot griddle. It thickens up a bit when it sits. Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
MIL says you can also sub half flour for the cornmeal to make a less grainy and lighter hoe cake!.. Sugar can also be added.. Best served with beans or Southern cooking IMO!.. :) Loved what Mimosa said about Hoe Cakes.. A "Poor Mans Do" recipe, when you make do with what you have on hand...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States