Hoe Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2013
I mixed up a half batch and it was so thin (about like grainy thick cream) so I added half as much whole wheat flour as the cornmeal. Fried the batter (now about like pan cake batter) covered it with thick bean soup and it was very good. I would rate it as soul food. guten appatit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Sorry, I followed the recipe to a T but unfortunately I didn't care for these hoe cakes at all. Really gritty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatieCakes02

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
Added about 1/3 c. flour and let it sit a bit to thicken as suggested, and was pleasantly surprised at how good these were. Served them with a bean soup. They reminded me of the cornmeal mush my Grandma used to make when I was a kid. My daughter ate one with syrup and really liked it that way, too. My parents ate with us, and dad asked for the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I agree with the comment to let the batter sit a few minutes to thicken however, still, the cakes were thin and dense with a bland flavor. They may be better as a side to chili or as a crepe with lots of sugary, wet toppings. Guess we prefer our corn cakes fluffy and sweet. I will try other recipes until I find "the one". Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TinaMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sedona, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Foodie Family
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
quick and good. great addition to the hoppin john soup that i served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
we were on a tight budget w/ a bunch of pulled pork from my MIL.i found some dried pinto beans in the pantry. i made some from scratch stovetop baked beans w/ the pork. served them in a bowl and topped them off w/these awesome hoe cakes. i did add some chopped jalapeno from the garden and some leftover crumbled bacon to the cakes. turned out great. thanks for an inexpensive recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
This was a very simple and tasty recipe! I did have a little problem with the milk separating from the batter mixture, but that might have happened because I mixed the liquids into the dry ingredients, instead of vice versa. These cakes were tasty; my family liked them with butter and brown sugar. I tried sour cream and chives, which was delicious! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
These were very good! I didn't want to make a whole pan of cornbread to go with leftover Navy bean soup and I remember this recipe. I had never had a hoe cake before but it brought back childhood memories for my husband! I think they would be excellent in the morning drizzled with honey or syrup as well! I'll be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
I thought these were very tasty - excellent with chili! They are incredibly simple to make. My recommendation is to let the batter sit for several minutes before dropping onto the hot griddle. It thickens up a bit when it sits. Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
MIL says you can also sub half flour for the cornmeal to make a less grainy and lighter hoe cake!.. Sugar can also be added.. Best served with beans or Southern cooking IMO!.. :) Loved what Mimosa said about Hoe Cakes.. A "Poor Mans Do" recipe, when you make do with what you have on hand...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States