Hoe Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Loved this bread. I baked it in a 9" pan and it rose to the top of the pan and cooked great in this size skillet. I didn't use garlic salt just used table salt in case someone wanted to spread it with jam. I'm sure it would be great with garlic salt too. Thanks for the recipe I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Tastes good but has several problems that can be easily fixed. The recipe doesn't say what size pan to use but I found out the a 10 inch one worked wonderful. One cup of milk in the batter is WAY to little to make a thick but still runny batter. I had to add at least 1/2 cup extra if not more. Finally, if your going to serve this with apple butter or any kind of fruit topping for that matter don't use the garlic salt, I'm sure you can understand why. The end product I think is worth doing the extra problem solving because it's actually a surprisingly good bread considering it's simplicity. It's a really crust bread that I feel when sliced thin can be enjoyed with many soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
My Great Grandma used to make these for me every time she made biscuits. One of my favorite memories! But no garlic salt. Not good with jelly. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
This is a great tasting recipe! I have a 9 inch pan and it rises during baking 3/4's to the pan top so it is not a thin bread as depicted in the picture though it is still good! I would love to know if everyone else has made their's thinner. It is a great snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carol Castellucci Miller
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
This is something I have never tried before. This recipe tastes like a flatbread, but a little more dense. I think it would be good dipped in marinara. Sorry, I'm not southern! It cooked for a little over 20 minutes and I had to add extra milk because the batter was too thick. I used the bacon grease instead of shortening. Quick and Easy bread to serve as a side. Would probably work well cooking over a fire for a campout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Castellucci Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malvern, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dover, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Im glad i found it. My dad use to make this when i was a kid. I loved it i dont think it had the garlic salt because we ate it with jelly. great snack. :) Thanks for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
This was so delicious! I am a yankee who married a southern man and had my first "hoe-cake" last night when I went out to eat with my in-laws and husband and son. My husband begged for me to try to make it today. This recipe was WAY better than what we ate last night! Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
I found this recipe and tried it one night when I was in a hurry. Fantastic! I didn't change a thing, and we all loved it...definitely a keeper, both because its yummy, but also it is fast and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kentville, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Grimsby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I registered just so i could comment this recipes name. I grew up on "Hoe cake".We used bisquick mixed with water until the consistency is like a thick pancake.Put it in a hot oiled cast iron skillet,cooked both sides and served with butter and syrup like a thick pancake. This has been a hit with everyone I have ever made it for.I saw your name and just laughed,it brought back so many memories."Hoe Cake"..haha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States