Hodie's Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
A perfect simple recipe!I made it exactly as described and added green peppers. I will stick to this combination from now on. You can take the base which is fantastic and add any fix ins you need. Also if you don't add peppers, try a splash of bbq sauce for a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bristol, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
My husband LOVED these and he hates the canned stuff. My three year old loved it too, and HATES veggies. He ate every bite!!! For my husband, I added some chopped jalapeno, and he thought it was great. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ethen's Momma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
I added celery with the onions, seasoned with a bit of worcestershire sauce, salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Quick, easy, and good. Replaced ketchup with BBQ sauceand added minced garlic. This is a regular in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
I made this for the first time ever and my husband and I loved it. It smelled great while cooking and even better once it was done. I topped it with mozzarella and Parmesan cheese. I'll definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Meridian, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
These are just okay. I added a lot of other ingredients after tasting them to get them to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
Hubby REALLY liked these. I thought they were really good too. Sweet and tangy. Not at all like I expected, it wasn't bland at all. Not spicy, but is a great base for adding all the extras you like to personalize it. I added about 6 good shakes of Frank's Red Hot sauce and served this on toasted buns with dill pickle spears. I did cook mine for 50 minutes, covered the first 40. Thanks, this was good, we enjoyed these for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
I basically followed the recipe and it was pretty good, just a tad too sweet. I also threw in a clove of garlic with the onion, some red pepper flakes, and a splash of worsheshire sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junglepeachpie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Cerrito, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
Even my husband who doesn't like sloppy Joes liked this. The second time I used blackberry jam in place of the brown sugar -- very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Sequim, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
Quick and easy...little short on the flavor side. Added a little Worchestershire sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States