Hodie's Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
I basically followed the recipe and it was pretty good, just a tad too sweet. I also threw in a clove of garlic with the onion, some red pepper flakes, and a splash of worsheshire sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junglepeachpie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Cerrito, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
My wife is always ribbing my about my cooking, not after this dish. She is very finicky about her food but she wanted seconds and was disappointed that the kids had finished it off. I highly recommend it. I made it just as the recipe shows and topped with some shredded cheddar cheese and microwaved for 30 sec.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by College Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
My only addition to this recipe was Durkee french fried onion rings as a topper! My kids don't like onion bits in their food so we us this in it's place for all sloppy joe recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
I came across this when I was looking for a quick & easy recipe since I was out of the canned stuff. Oh my, it is absolutely delicious, easy to make and my family loved it. I will never buy the canned stuff again. Thank you for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
A perfect simple recipe!I made it exactly as described and added green peppers. I will stick to this combination from now on. You can take the base which is fantastic and add any fix ins you need. Also if you don't add peppers, try a splash of bbq sauce for a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bristol, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
Quick and easy...little short on the flavor side. Added a little Worchestershire sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
This was very good and very easy. I did add mustard for our taste, which everyone liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
after trying this there ain't no way i'll ever use manwich or packaged stuff again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 13ragamuffin777

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
My husband LOVED these and he hates the canned stuff. My three year old loved it too, and HATES veggies. He ate every bite!!! For my husband, I added some chopped jalapeno, and he thought it was great. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ethen's Momma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tricia Jaeger
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
I added celery with the onions, seasoned with a bit of worcestershire sauce, salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States