Hodie's Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Good as is, almost exactly what I was looking for - a simple, basic sloppy joes recipe. But when I tasted it while cooking, I decided to add 1 tsp Worcestershire sauce. Then it was perfect. I made a half batch, so for those making a full batch, you may want to add 2 tsp of Worcestershire sauce instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Lebanon, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
5 after adding spices & cutting down on sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eagle Rock, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
I have another sloppy Joe recipe and I was missing some of the key ingredients so I went to my favorite website and found this one. Simple and it was good. I made a few changes. I added about a tsp. of fresh minced garlic (in the jar) and added about a teaspoon of lawry's season salt. I thought it was missing something and that seemed to help. My family thought it was good and that’s what matters the most.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Great, basic family comfort food. The only change was I added 1TBSP of spicy brown mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Yummy! I had to make some changes based on what was in the cabinet...instead of onion, tomato sauce and ketchup, I used a jar of Harry & David pepper and onion relish that I needed to use and a can of tomato paste. Gave a nice little kick to the sweetness. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
Just made this for dinner last night and WHAT A HIT!!!! My picky husband had 3 servings, which is very rare. After it was cooked I caught myself tasting it over and over again. I did substitute ground turkey for the beef, added some garlic/mushrooms and used splenda brown sugar substitute. A+++++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Everyone in my family loves this recipe; have made it twice and will make in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Westfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
This was a very good recipe. I've tried several Sloppy Joes recipes, and there's not very much variation in them, I find. I made this almost exactly as written, using light brown sugar, and a little more ketchup than specified (I measured out too much and couldn't exactly put the excess back into the bottle). It was quick and easy, and was decently thick. Perhaps a tiny bit too sweet, in my opinion. But it was all quite tasty, and the serving count is dead-on - it fit onto 6 (smallish) hamburger buns. I can recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
It was better then the can! I love this recipe, its delicious! You should try it Mom :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
Wow! This was delicious!! I loved the flavor. It was moist and I will probably make this again. I loved it!! I wanted seconds, but I couldn't because of my restricted diet and also because there wasn't any left. Even my son ate all of what was on his plate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynnshamrock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States