Hodie's Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
We really liked this sloppy joe recipe. I did add a clove of garlic and a dash or Worcestershire Sauce, as suggested by others, and it was great! Simple and fast, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zobird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Good as is, almost exactly what I was looking for - a simple, basic sloppy joes recipe. But when I tasted it while cooking, I decided to add 1 tsp Worcestershire sauce. Then it was perfect. I made a half batch, so for those making a full batch, you may want to add 2 tsp of Worcestershire sauce instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Lebanon, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
5 after adding spices & cutting down on sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eagle Rock, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
I have another sloppy Joe recipe and I was missing some of the key ingredients so I went to my favorite website and found this one. Simple and it was good. I made a few changes. I added about a tsp. of fresh minced garlic (in the jar) and added about a teaspoon of lawry's season salt. I thought it was missing something and that seemed to help. My family thought it was good and that’s what matters the most.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Great, basic family comfort food. The only change was I added 1TBSP of spicy brown mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Yummy! I had to make some changes based on what was in the cabinet...instead of onion, tomato sauce and ketchup, I used a jar of Harry & David pepper and onion relish that I needed to use and a can of tomato paste. Gave a nice little kick to the sweetness. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
Just made this for dinner last night and WHAT A HIT!!!! My picky husband had 3 servings, which is very rare. After it was cooked I caught myself tasting it over and over again. I did substitute ground turkey for the beef, added some garlic/mushrooms and used splenda brown sugar substitute. A+++++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Everyone in my family loves this recipe; have made it twice and will make in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Westfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
This was a very good recipe. I've tried several Sloppy Joes recipes, and there's not very much variation in them, I find. I made this almost exactly as written, using light brown sugar, and a little more ketchup than specified (I measured out too much and couldn't exactly put the excess back into the bottle). It was quick and easy, and was decently thick. Perhaps a tiny bit too sweet, in my opinion. But it was all quite tasty, and the serving count is dead-on - it fit onto 6 (smallish) hamburger buns. I can recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
It was better then the can! I love this recipe, its delicious! You should try it Mom :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States