Hobo's Delight Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
Excellent. I made these in the oven, 350* for 25 min. I added garlic powder spicy montreal steak seasoning and worcestershire sauce to the meat mixture. I also added garlic cloves to the packets and butter on top. Definately will be making again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2001
My whole family loves these! We've had this dish several times. I like to see other variations, so here's what I do a little different. I add about a tablespoon of cream of mushroom soup with garlic on top of the raw meat before adding the veggies, and closing the packet. That way it makes it's own gravy, and it is GOOD, GOOD, GOOD! Thanks for the great recipe, Michelle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2002
I just wanted to add a note although i didn't make this exact recipe... my uncle and mother have been making these for years, pretty much the only difference is Cheese... lots of cheese melted over all the ingredients! Can't go wrong! Also adding a1 to the ground beef always adds a bit of extra zing... Great to make and throw in the cooler for camping! Happy grilling...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2005
This is a quick, convenient, comfort food meal that can easily be adjusted to feed many or a few. For each packet I sliced some regular carrots in place of the baby carrots and added some sliced fresh mushrooms. Also drizzled a good amount of olive oil over the top of the vegetables before sealing the packets. I scaled the recipe to 3 servings which reduced the ground beef to 1 pound. To the ground beef I mixed in 2 tsps Worcestershire sauce, 1/2 tsp garlic powder, 1/2 tsp onion powder, 1/2 tsp salt, 1/4 tsp black pepper, 1-1/2 tsps Italian seasoning and 2 tbsp of roasted garlic ketchup. Thanks Michelle. This is a great recipe when you want a good dinner without a lot of dishes to clean up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2003
Our family has been making a variation of this recipe for about fourty years. We call it "Hobo Dinners", and always make it on the grill when camping. The only difference is that we add a couple slices of fresh tomatoes as the top layer, it adds great flavor and always keeps everything nice and moist. We take a family camping trip every summer, and now have four generations making their "Hobo Dinner".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2005
This is absolutely the best recipe I have ever gotten off the internet. I cannot begin to describe how good it was! My 3 year old (who is a picky eater) LOVED it and even asked for seconds! My 1 year old gobbled it up! I will be making this again soon and am sure it will become a tradition in my family. I did add a couple of things- to the hamburger, I mixed in some worcestershire sauce, season all and an egg. I also put a pad of butter on top after placing the veggies in. It has definitely become my family's favorite meal! *****5 stars!!*****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamanunez

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mohave Valley, Arizona, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2005
I too sprinkle McCormick's Montreal Steak seasoning to the patties and add worcestershire sauce. It is a "must" at our house--per the husband! Just a good "meat-and-veg" meal and easy cleanup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2003
THANK YOU! We are selling our home, so we have had people looking at it every night this week. I am so tired of feeding the kids fast food, I just couldn't take it anymore. I need a fast, easy recipe that I could do completly on the grill. This was WONDERFUL, and just what the doctor ordered! I sifted through the other reviews and combined their suggestions. I used Lipton onion and mushroom soup in with the meat, and then topped the kid's with shredded cheese, and mine and the hubby's with fresh tomatoes and cheese. DELISH! I'll be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYTHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2001
I love this recipe, and you can add your own ingredients based on things you like. i add powdered ranch dressing mix or onion soup mix to my ground beef for a different flavor sometimes. I also add onions, and fresh mushrooms sometimes. Both my boys love the packets and it takes my husband back to his boy scout days. Sometimes, I cook mine in the oven in my kitchen, on days when I don't feel like firing up the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
AWESOME!! I added A1, green peppers & mushrooms. Everything was so tasty, I will definitely cook it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Grill Burgers

Watch five terrific tips for building and grilling the best burgers on the block.

Meatloaf Cupcakes

A savory surprise! Kid-approved meatloaf cupcakes are piped with mashed potatoes.

Grilled Garlic Steak with Garlic

See how to make an amazing double-garlic steak on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States