Hobo's Delight Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2001
Use a lean hamburger. I found it too greasy for me although my partner loved it. He wants us to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2001
My whole family loves these! We've had this dish several times. I like to see other variations, so here's what I do a little different. I add about a tablespoon of cream of mushroom soup with garlic on top of the raw meat before adding the veggies, and closing the packet. That way it makes it's own gravy, and it is GOOD, GOOD, GOOD! Thanks for the great recipe, Michelle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2001
I found this recipe to be fun and easy. Great for Kids too. With easy clean up, it's one of my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2001
I love this recipe, and you can add your own ingredients based on things you like. i add powdered ranch dressing mix or onion soup mix to my ground beef for a different flavor sometimes. I also add onions, and fresh mushrooms sometimes. Both my boys love the packets and it takes my husband back to his boy scout days. Sometimes, I cook mine in the oven in my kitchen, on days when I don't feel like firing up the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2002
I just wanted to add a note although i didn't make this exact recipe... my uncle and mother have been making these for years, pretty much the only difference is Cheese... lots of cheese melted over all the ingredients! Can't go wrong! Also adding a1 to the ground beef always adds a bit of extra zing... Great to make and throw in the cooler for camping! Happy grilling...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2002
Good and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrew

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2003
Our family has been making a variation of this recipe for about fourty years. We call it "Hobo Dinners", and always make it on the grill when camping. The only difference is that we add a couple slices of fresh tomatoes as the top layer, it adds great flavor and always keeps everything nice and moist. We take a family camping trip every summer, and now have four generations making their "Hobo Dinner".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2003
this is great for camping, it makes cleanup easy, espesially here in montana where there are bears,and other animals that are looking for a snack around midnight.this way it is compact and you gat your vegetibles and meat it is even better if you mix a lipton soupmix in with your meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2003
THANK YOU! We are selling our home, so we have had people looking at it every night this week. I am so tired of feeding the kids fast food, I just couldn't take it anymore. I need a fast, easy recipe that I could do completly on the grill. This was WONDERFUL, and just what the doctor ordered! I sifted through the other reviews and combined their suggestions. I used Lipton onion and mushroom soup in with the meat, and then topped the kid's with shredded cheese, and mine and the hubby's with fresh tomatoes and cheese. DELISH! I'll be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYTHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2003
Absolutely WONDERFUL!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Grill Burgers

Watch five terrific tips for building and grilling the best burgers on the block.

Best Hamburger Ever

See how to make juicy grilled burgers loaded with good stuff.

How to Make the All-American Burger

Get tips to fire up the tastiest grilled cheeseburgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States