Hobo's Delight Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Cherries
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
I gave this recipe 4 stars because I was a bit grossed out by the greese at the bottom of the foil. My ground beef was 97% lean but without anywhere for the bit of fat that is left to go, it ended up soaking my poatoes and carrots. I uploaded a photo but cropped it so you won't see all of the greese. (You can still see some) I listened to reviewers and seasoned my beef beforehand. I used garlic powder, pepper, and season all. I layered my foil with the carrots and potatoes at the bottom (I was thinking it would help with flavoring) and then put the meat and onions on top. I think I had the right idea if there wouldn't have been so much greese. I love how quick these were to 'whip up' and I will try them again but maybe in the oven with a broiler pan and I'll put a small slit in the foil so it can drain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherries

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
Sky is the limit with this convenent recipe. I use it often for scout camps. Don't forget, for camp fire foil packs: Shiny side in unless you use non stick foil which is the best thing man ever invented.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sledgehammer

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
it took longer than stated to cook the potatoes, even diced small. was a little watery. Would be good for camping, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by athomas21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eagle River, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
Used a lean hamburger, and formed 2 meat loaf type shapes in my dutch oven. Added the veggies to the top. Found that the potatoes take the longest to cook so cut them a little smaller. Add your favorite seasonings to the meat and sprinkle your veggies with the same herbs for added flavor. Great one dish meal and easy prep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
We made this with large 1/2 lb patties and made them in the oven, the cooking time was understandably much longer than the review I took advice from, about an hour and we upped it to 400 degrees. This was a delicious and easy supper for the busy Christmas season. The next morning, Christmas day I knew we wouldn't have time for lunch and asked my S.O. if he wanted the same thing for breakfast and he said "Yeah if you put an egg or two on it." While we were eating he said it was even better with egg and the next time we have it, (not if) we should include the egg. Thanks for this recipe, very good, neat and self contained satisfying meal. And we used McCormick steak seasoning, that's the thing for the people that thought it was bland, add the spice that you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
My kids eat it!!! Yay!!! They love eating it because they love saying the name. (toddlers) And I love it because not only does it taste good. It's easy to freeze individual portions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stepperanddaniel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
Nice, inexpensive meal! I took the advice of others and added a tad butter to each foil packet along with additional seasonings. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sammy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
This recipe was a good starter for a new family recipe for us. I didn't care much for the hamburgers in this, I just didn't like the texture of it.. so instead I use 4oz pieces of beef steak. It takes a bit longer to cook depending on how well done you like your meat, but well worth the wait! And because its all individual it saves on having tons of leftovers that no one eats. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Proud Canadian Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WannaBeChef
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
I used the recipe for the "Biggest Best Burger" from this website. I threw in the potatoes, carrots and onion with the burger. I thought the meal was good, but my husband didn't like it. He ended up putting his burger on a bun. :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WannaBeChef

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
the reason why I'm giving this only 3 stars is because I added so much to this, that it really isn't the same recipe. I make my patties, like I would a burger, seasoning and all. I add potatoes and carrots and onions. I also, fry up some bacon with spinach. I place the meatball in the middle, surround the ball with veggies, add a pat of butter, cut up with veggies, and then top with bacon and spinach mixture. I bake in the oven, about an hour. when ready to serve to get rid of the pool of grease I take a fork and puncture the bottom of the foil packet and drain the grease. I hope you enjoy these I know we do. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiger Sand

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Swansea, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Meatloaf Cupcakes

A savory surprise! Kid-approved meatloaf cupcakes are piped with mashed potatoes.

How to Grill Burgers

Watch five terrific tips for building and grilling the best burgers on the block.

Grilled Garlic Steak with Garlic

See how to make an amazing double-garlic steak on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States