Hobo Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
I made this on the stove which might have been my first mistake but it didn't come out at all like what i was expecting. There was way too much macaroni for the rest of the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Good, perfect for my hobo party I threw. (I served it in tin cans with a rag wrapped around it.) Needs salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
This is a great recipe for a family camping trip, we just had a family reunion and made this, we hada smorgesboard of ingredients for everyone to choose from, green beans, corn, garlic, hamburger, rice, a variety of seasoning, everyone had a foil pouch and filled it with what they wanted in it and seasoned it to personal taste, we wrapped them up and cooked over our camp fire! We also boiled potatos over the fire prior, it was interactive for everyone and made for great memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: La Grande, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
I have made hobo stew before and loved it. when I learned to make it we would call it poor mans stew. it is a quick and economical meal. but still very filling. I would add a few more spices like italian seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Seguin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Makes enough to feed 8. Very yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Novi, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Definitely needed more liquid and some spicing up, but it's a good basic recipe that you can tweak and make your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I like other reviewers added my own variation of "extras" to this base recipe. It is a good start, but a VERY easy dish to learn to add your own style. I subed tomato juice for the water, added chili ready diced tomatoes and more garlic and seasoning to my family's taste. Enjoy!! A fall night meal with a good bread!! Delish!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
Wow, this brings back memories -- a classic from so many camping trips as a kid. We always added cubed cheese at the end. It isn't gourmet, and I'll never forget how entirely skeptical I was as a kid the first time this was on the camping menu -- but it was surprisingly good that time, and every time since. :) Maybe it's that campfire magic -- EVERYTHING cooked over a campfire tastes better, from the humble hotdog to Hobo Stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
I could tell just by reading the recipe that it was going to need some punching up. So the 4 stars are based on my additions. I browned the meat with a half an onion chopped and added garlic powder. I used Italian seasoned diced tomatoes and substituted beef consumme for the water. It still needs more seasoning. And next time I make it I will use salad macaroni; the elbow mac "grew" substantially and was just too big compared to the size of the veggies. All in all it's a good recipe to adapt to your own taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
I changed the recipe when camping. Bring 3 things for HoBo Stew. 1lb Ground beef, 1 can Minnestrone Soup, 1 can rotel. Through it all together, best camping food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States