Hobo Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
I was looking for a 'one dish' meal with a side and bread that I could make for the homeless shelter we serve. It was also wonderful that you suggested sides and that I could get a recipe for 144 people. I am now a lifetime fan of Allrecipes. You have made my job so much easier. In order to stay in budget, I can just look for dishes that contain the meat that is on sale that week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Makes enough to feed 8. Very yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Novi, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
I have made hobo stew before and loved it. when I learned to make it we would call it poor mans stew. it is a quick and economical meal. but still very filling. I would add a few more spices like italian seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Seguin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
This is a great recipe for a family camping trip, we just had a family reunion and made this, we hada smorgesboard of ingredients for everyone to choose from, green beans, corn, garlic, hamburger, rice, a variety of seasoning, everyone had a foil pouch and filled it with what they wanted in it and seasoned it to personal taste, we wrapped them up and cooked over our camp fire! We also boiled potatos over the fire prior, it was interactive for everyone and made for great memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: La Grande, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
Hobo stew is so wonderful because there are so many different ways to make it...you really can't mess it up. A big pot of it feeds a bunch, and it's hearty and delicious. This recipe was great because it's the basics, and you can go from there. When I make Hobo stew, I literally clean my fridge adding in leftovers (like veggies, even mashed potatoes can be used as thickener, beans, and sauce (mustard, ketchup, salsa...whatever you have on hand!). I learned to make this as a Brownie girl scout at a camp-out and still make it from time to time as comfort food. You can make it in your crock-pot but be careful because depending on the noodle you use it will get soggy and turn into a thick broth if you simmer too long (still tastes good, but becomes thick). Anyways, I love this...and it is great for pot-lucks, camporees, and cold winter nights. Have fun with this awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
I CUT DOWN ON ONE CAN OF MIXED VEGIES AND TO 2 CUPS MAC. COOKED THE MAC SEPARATELY,(CAUSE I DON'T LIKE THE STARCHY TASTE),WHILE THE REST I LET SIT TOGETHER, THEN MIXED TOGETHER. ALL ON THE STOVE. EVERYBODY LOVED IT. WE DID THIS IN THE CORP AND WHILE I WAS SCOUTMASTER, BOTH PLACES EVERYBODY LOVED IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
Our family LOVES hobo stew, but to add to the heartiness and flavor I use 3 cans (10 3/4 oz) condensed minestrone soup undiluted, 2 cans ranch style beans undrained and a can of diced tomatoes and green chilies undrained. I don't bother adding mixed vegetables or the macaroni. I just brown about a pound and half of hamburger and a diced medium onion and throw it all in the crockpot on low for about 6 hours. So good and easy and really great with cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toasty Mama
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Good, perfect for my hobo party I threw. (I served it in tin cans with a rag wrapped around it.) Needs salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
Pretty good. I don't think I would make it at home, but for camping it was pretty tasty. I would definitely add more flavorful veggies and some spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELANIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
I left off one of the cans of veggies and added a can of ranch beans like someone had suggested. I did also add a can of beef broth. I had cooked my ground beef with onion, green pepper and garlic. When I added the macaroni, I also added 1 cup of shredded frozen hash browns. This really hit the spot on a cold evening while we were camping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States