Hobo Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
Pretty good. I don't think I would make it at home, but for camping it was pretty tasty. I would definitely add more flavorful veggies and some spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELANIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
I was looking for a 'one dish' meal with a side and bread that I could make for the homeless shelter we serve. It was also wonderful that you suggested sides and that I could get a recipe for 144 people. I am now a lifetime fan of Allrecipes. You have made my job so much easier. In order to stay in budget, I can just look for dishes that contain the meat that is on sale that week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
I CUT DOWN ON ONE CAN OF MIXED VEGIES AND TO 2 CUPS MAC. COOKED THE MAC SEPARATELY,(CAUSE I DON'T LIKE THE STARCHY TASTE),WHILE THE REST I LET SIT TOGETHER, THEN MIXED TOGETHER. ALL ON THE STOVE. EVERYBODY LOVED IT. WE DID THIS IN THE CORP AND WHILE I WAS SCOUTMASTER, BOTH PLACES EVERYBODY LOVED IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
Our Boy Scout troop made this on a day when we did not have a lot of time to prepare dinner. It was quick and easy, and the boys loved it. We added a chopped onion (browned with the meat), small can of tomato sauce, and some Montreal-style seasoning. It's on our favorites list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
Hobo stew is so wonderful because there are so many different ways to make it...you really can't mess it up. A big pot of it feeds a bunch, and it's hearty and delicious. This recipe was great because it's the basics, and you can go from there. When I make Hobo stew, I literally clean my fridge adding in leftovers (like veggies, even mashed potatoes can be used as thickener, beans, and sauce (mustard, ketchup, salsa...whatever you have on hand!). I learned to make this as a Brownie girl scout at a camp-out and still make it from time to time as comfort food. You can make it in your crock-pot but be careful because depending on the noodle you use it will get soggy and turn into a thick broth if you simmer too long (still tastes good, but becomes thick). Anyways, I love this...and it is great for pot-lucks, camporees, and cold winter nights. Have fun with this awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2007
I thought this hobo stew was tasteless it was plain and i added a ox cube and some garlic and fresh carrots, corn, peas and it seemed to add way more flavour and texture to this dull recipe....SORRY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
Our family LOVES hobo stew, but to add to the heartiness and flavor I use 3 cans (10 3/4 oz) condensed minestrone soup undiluted, 2 cans ranch style beans undrained and a can of diced tomatoes and green chilies undrained. I don't bother adding mixed vegetables or the macaroni. I just brown about a pound and half of hamburger and a diced medium onion and throw it all in the crockpot on low for about 6 hours. So good and easy and really great with cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toasty Mama
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
I left off one of the cans of veggies and added a can of ranch beans like someone had suggested. I did also add a can of beef broth. I had cooked my ground beef with onion, green pepper and garlic. When I added the macaroni, I also added 1 cup of shredded frozen hash browns. This really hit the spot on a cold evening while we were camping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
I changed the recipe when camping. Bring 3 things for HoBo Stew. 1lb Ground beef, 1 can Minnestrone Soup, 1 can rotel. Through it all together, best camping food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
I could tell just by reading the recipe that it was going to need some punching up. So the 4 stars are based on my additions. I browned the meat with a half an onion chopped and added garlic powder. I used Italian seasoned diced tomatoes and substituted beef consumme for the water. It still needs more seasoning. And next time I make it I will use salad macaroni; the elbow mac "grew" substantially and was just too big compared to the size of the veggies. All in all it's a good recipe to adapt to your own taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States