Hobo Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
I left off one of the cans of veggies and added a can of ranch beans like someone had suggested. I did also add a can of beef broth. I had cooked my ground beef with onion, green pepper and garlic. When I added the macaroni, I also added 1 cup of shredded frozen hash browns. This really hit the spot on a cold evening while we were camping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
Our family LOVES hobo stew, but to add to the heartiness and flavor I use 3 cans (10 3/4 oz) condensed minestrone soup undiluted, 2 cans ranch style beans undrained and a can of diced tomatoes and green chilies undrained. I don't bother adding mixed vegetables or the macaroni. I just brown about a pound and half of hamburger and a diced medium onion and throw it all in the crockpot on low for about 6 hours. So good and easy and really great with cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toasty Mama
Reviewed: May 26, 2007
I thought this hobo stew was tasteless it was plain and i added a ox cube and some garlic and fresh carrots, corn, peas and it seemed to add way more flavour and texture to this dull recipe....SORRY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
Hobo stew is so wonderful because there are so many different ways to make it...you really can't mess it up. A big pot of it feeds a bunch, and it's hearty and delicious. This recipe was great because it's the basics, and you can go from there. When I make Hobo stew, I literally clean my fridge adding in leftovers (like veggies, even mashed potatoes can be used as thickener, beans, and sauce (mustard, ketchup, salsa...whatever you have on hand!). I learned to make this as a Brownie girl scout at a camp-out and still make it from time to time as comfort food. You can make it in your crock-pot but be careful because depending on the noodle you use it will get soggy and turn into a thick broth if you simmer too long (still tastes good, but becomes thick). Anyways, I love this...and it is great for pot-lucks, camporees, and cold winter nights. Have fun with this awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
Our Boy Scout troop made this on a day when we did not have a lot of time to prepare dinner. It was quick and easy, and the boys loved it. We added a chopped onion (browned with the meat), small can of tomato sauce, and some Montreal-style seasoning. It's on our favorites list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
I CUT DOWN ON ONE CAN OF MIXED VEGIES AND TO 2 CUPS MAC. COOKED THE MAC SEPARATELY,(CAUSE I DON'T LIKE THE STARCHY TASTE),WHILE THE REST I LET SIT TOGETHER, THEN MIXED TOGETHER. ALL ON THE STOVE. EVERYBODY LOVED IT. WE DID THIS IN THE CORP AND WHILE I WAS SCOUTMASTER, BOTH PLACES EVERYBODY LOVED IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
I was looking for a 'one dish' meal with a side and bread that I could make for the homeless shelter we serve. It was also wonderful that you suggested sides and that I could get a recipe for 144 people. I am now a lifetime fan of Allrecipes. You have made my job so much easier. In order to stay in budget, I can just look for dishes that contain the meat that is on sale that week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
Pretty good. I don't think I would make it at home, but for camping it was pretty tasty. I would definitely add more flavorful veggies and some spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELANIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States