Hobo Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Made this recipe last night for the family. Ending up putting it in 3 separate boats, wrapped twice, but I would suggest doing 3 times, so you don't rip the tin foil when you flip them. Grilled them for about 45 minutes, and they turned out perfectly! My family gobbled up every last bite. I was planning on having leftovers to send home with my Mother and there were none! Very pleased with this simple, delicious recipe. Will be trying it again, with maybe an add in of some spicy sausage! Also, I didn't add the sour cream, after a little salt and pepper spruce it is great without it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Excellent. I grew up on this, but we didn't use carrots and we usually served it with sour cream and "bacon" bits. Extra-yummy with a little celery salt, too! Thanks for the great reminder. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
My family would make this all the time when we went camping. We would add the chicken in the tinfoil so that it would all bake together. Really simple, easy meal. I've also made it at home in the past in the oven. Not gourmet, but SUPER Easy, and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Delicious! I made 1/2 the recipe, and took the time to melt the butter and mix the vegetables with the melted butter and seasoned salt before wrapping in foil and baking in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Did not use the sour cream but it was so good I don't think it needed it. Must spray foil with Pam next time. I sprayed the potato/onions with cajun blast garlic butter basting sauce and sprinkled with Lawrys seasoned salt. Then put a Tbsp of butter in each packet. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
Spray the tinfoil down with cooking spray so your potatoes don't stick. I added 2 garlic cloves, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. The potatoes are good and flavorful, very easy side dish to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jjm1982

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Lenox, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
These are the best potatoes in the world. We add carrots for more nutrients and color. Yummy Yummy!!! I serve these anything grilled. Easy clean up on my kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommaJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orland Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
My husband brought this recipe into the family, calling it Hobo Stew. He includes red meat at the bottom, usually sirloin, which he puts on the bottom and sprinkes steak dust over it. He then puts on the potatoes and carrots and drizzles melted butter over the top. Bakes it in the oven and it comes out incredible. This is def a 5 star recipe, and for vegetarians the meatless variety stated here would be great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kady-June
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
Super super good. I baked mine in the oven at 350F for around 50 minutes and it turned out really really well and tasted really really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kady-June

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
Very good - made it with half the butter and added some garlic, which gave it a nice flavor. Next time I'm going to use quarter the butter recommended - still seemed like a lot when we ate it. Went well with the london broil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fondant Potatoes

Impressive, perfect potatoes with tender, creamy insides and crispy edges.

Fachamatta's Famous Potatoes

See the amazing story behind Joseph Crecca’s famous “Fachamatta Potatoes.”

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States