Hobo Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
I love these! My family also calls them Hobo Pies. Our favorites are pizza pies & cherry pies. For pizza pies, butter the bread as usual, then use ready-to-use pizza sauce, mozarella cheese, and pepperoni. Another idea is to use peanut butter, a marshmallow, and a chocolate bar for a Rocky Road treat. Be careful with the irons and the pies because they are VERY HOT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
Everyone loved it, even the kids. No left-overs at all. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1SassyMassey

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
Hi we have made these for years as well. We have always called them camel chips. We make desert ones and savory ones for a meal. The favorites of my family are pizza pockets, ham and cheese, and cherry pie. They are always present at every camping trip. Have fun experimenting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
My kids all love them...they can cook them alone, and make as many as they want! Try peach pie filling with a marshmallow...delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manhattan, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
We also call these "Pudgie Pies" and often make pizza ones. There really is no need to butter the bread though, if you already sprayed the pan with the non-stick cooking spray. Save yourself a few calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
We do this as well and love it, but we call them "pie irons". We trim off any extra bread that's sticking out and make sure it's closed completely and your bread is sealed together. We do many variations though including using cherry, peach or blueberry pie filling; peanut butter, marshmallow and chocolate chips (or a piece of Hershey's chocolate bar); we also love the pizza ones we make with pizza sauce, pepperoni and mozzarella cheese (you can also add green pepper, mushrooms, onion or whatever you like on your pizza). It also makes a great grilled cheese and ham 'pie'. Just remember to place the ingredients in the center of the bread and don't overfill! Use small amounts until you get the feel for it and know just how much you can put in it. The variations are limitless with these- just use your imagination and create whatever your family likes! Happy Camping! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kara

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
We love these! Wheat bread works well, too. We sprinkle ours with sugar. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
We mak these all the time during camp trips but we call them "Pudgy Pies" and we dust them with powdered sugar. We also make Pizza Pudgy Pies with spaghetti sauce mozzarella and sausage. Yummmmmmmm!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica53214

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
We always called these Mountain Pies, and they are perfect for camping! FYI - it is possible to make them with a George Foreman Grill or other countertop grill - lol. We've also made them with Cherry pie filling, pizza-style, chipped-ham and cheese, and with pre-cooked scrambled eggs and bacon with a slice of cheese melted inside. Mmmmm....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
We made these camping this past summer! They are awesome!!!! We sprinkled them with powdered sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parkville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Joppa, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States