Hobo Dinner Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
My husband was kind of iffy at first, but finally made it. He ate most of it and kept repeating how good it was, definitely will be making this again. Very easy to make!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
The thing I liked most about this was the potatoes, and that was only because I added in some beef broth to the dish before cooking. The rest of it I found very bland, even with adding onion salt, garlic salt, and Worcestershire sauce to the ground beef. The roomie and I agreed, baking them in patties was a horrible idea. Next time I'll try browning the meat in a skillet first and crumbling it into the dish. I'll also experiment with some spices, because this just lacked flavour all over. We couldn't even bring ourselves to finish the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Bristol, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
YUM! Both my hubs and I REALLY enjoyed this!!! Although the concept isn't foreign to me (thanks to my time as a Girl Scout!), I've never made a hobo-style meal myself. Not only is this simple, stick-to-your ribs fare, it's flexible, frugal and easy to prepare. I do suggest a few alterations, however. Adding a packet of dry onion soup mix to your beef gives it incredible flavor. A generous splash of Worcestershire sauce and s&p (to taste) also goes a long way. My only gripe is that my beef patties were slightly overcooked at the hour mark. The veggies were perfectly tender tho, so I think I'll just pop them in the oven first and then add the meat (on top of the veggies) half way thru the cooking time. FYI, if you want to use baby carrots instead, you'll need about 16-20 of them. Thanks SO much for sharing your genius recipe, Debbie. This halved easily to accommodate my small family and tasted delicious. I can't wait to try this on the grill (in individual foil packets) this summer! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
So simple and yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Awesome recipe! My kids do not eat vegetables and I can honestly say that they cleaned this meal out. For adult plates we added a pinch of cyan pepper which was perfect and seasoned the patties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
literally the blandest thing I have EVER put in my mouth. On the upside, it was edible but the amount of sauce or salt required to consume this defeated any health value. Sadly, it was inconsumable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
Easy comfort food! We always make these camping (with corn added too). They are bland without condiments. Ketchup, mustard or bbq are all good on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
Tweek this with some garlic and no sodium butter also some miss dash and leave out the garlic salt and salt because that defeats the whole low sodium purpose. Garlic Garlic from tastefully simple has no sodium and is an improvement
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
I haven't tried this recipe yet. I am planning on it tonight. This recipe sounds a lot like my mom's except she didn't make the meat into patties. My mom just browned the beef and mixed it with the veggies. It was always a big hit with very little left for leftovers the next day since there were 7 of us all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I add cabbage to the ingredients for an added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cozy Winter Dinner

Nothing makes a dinner party more inviting than satisfying comfort food.

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Low-Cal Hawaiian Chicken Kabob Dinner

This 600-calorie meal is full of tropical and Asian-infused delights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States