Hobo Beef and Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I would give this 3 1/2 stars if possible. It was good but as others said, it does lack something. I took suggestions such as adding additional onion, garlic, Worcestershire sauce, celery salt, beef bouillon but it still missed something. I also used frozen veggies as I cannot tolerate canned. What I may do next time is to serve it very thick and spoon over mashed potatoes kind of a Shepherd's pie dish. It is very hardy though but once I tweak it to figure out that little extra that's needed, it will be a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I have received rave reviews on this one. I do add more beef broth to mine, less carrots and no peas. I have made it with hamburger and stew meat. Both are good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
I was excited to make this recipe and I did it exactly as written . However we found it bland. I love the good mix of ingredients and if I make it again I would add more seasoning maybe soy and Worcester like some others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Feeling like we were coming down with something,I decided to make this soup. I made it on the stovetop instead of slow cooker. It was exactly what the doctor ordered. Jam packed full of veggies, yum! I served this with French bread. Delicious soup, and easy to adapt to stovetop! Next time I will use the slow cooker. Hubby really liked this one too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Very good soup. I took other reviewers' suggestions and subbed stew meat for ground, frozen veggies for canned, used Italian tomatoes, added seasonings (Italian herbs, Worcestershire, soy, Tony C). Also added sea salt since I used unsalted stock. After browning, just threw all in crock pot for 6-8 hours on low. Toward end I cooked 1/2 cup barley separately and added that. Best veggie-beef soup I have made so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bossier City, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
This is a very good soup! I added more broth because I love lots of broth in my soup. I mixed chicken, beef and liquid vegetable broth in the soup. It was lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
This was really good and hearty! I'll have to use this in Fall and Winter! I did make some subs based on what I had at home today. I used ground turkey and chicken broth instead of beef. I also threw in Mrs. Dash in place of parsley and celery seed. For the tomatoes, I used Trader Joe's fire-roasted diced tomatoes and they provided a nice kick. I also subbed the green beans for frozen spinach, and used only one potato. Next time, I will try with two potatoes, as per recipe. Can't wait to make this again. Super easy! It would go well with warm, crusty bread. Next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
I have been making this soup for years, but never got the flavoring right - it still tasted like ground beef and vegetables. Then I added a couple of teaspoons of Italian seasoning, and that did it! I gave it more flavor, but didn't make it taste like spaghetti sauce. I do leave out the celery as I am not fond of the flavor, and used frozen mixed veggies. Inexpensive and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
This is a recipe that has similar ingredients of a stew my mother used to make, except she made the ground beef mixture into meatballs. I tweeked this recipe to match the one she used to make. I sauteed the garlic, onion, and 1/3 cup of chopped green bell pepper, until soft and the onions were translucent. Than I mixed up the ground beef with one egg, in a large plastic bag with a zipper. I kneaded the mixture, until the egg was combined with the ground beef. I added the sauteed garlic, onion, and bell pepper, and kneaded it all together until it was all mixed in well. I browned the meatballs in a little olive oil, just until browned. I finished cooking the meatballs in the can stewed tomatoes. The recipe is the same from here on. Taste just like my mom's...well almost! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimme63

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Los Osos, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
This soup made lots and is a good way of working vegetables into your diet. I used frozen vegs. instead of the canned ones. The only thing I would change is add some seasoning as it is a little bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States