Hoagie Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2002
Wow! This recipe exceeded my expectations! We loved it! Per previous reviewers, I too used a food processor to quicken the process and added a little extra mayo and a TBLS of red wine vinegar. Yum yum! Will be making for many parties and events to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2002
Amazing dip. I tried it out on my Philadelphia family (Philly, if you dont know, is the home of the Italian Hoagie) We all agreed, it really does taste like a real hoagie. I added more mayo and also added red wine vinegar at the end and I would say it takes much more prep time that 15 min, but boy was it worth it. It also keeps for a few days, so serve over a long weekend at the Jersey Shore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
Growing up north of philly there are 3 things I know from birth, real cheese steaks, stromboli's, and Hoagie's. I must say this totally hit the mark. I did add some vinegar to the mixture as any hoagie I've ever had contained it. It was terrific!. I did scale this down to 4 servings and it made about 2 1/2 cups of dip even then. I chopped all the meat and cheese up rather than tore, it was faster and more uniform. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2002
I cut this recipe in half, because it just seemed like it would make too much. I am sooo glad I did. The dip is great, but we would never have been able to finish all the dip otherwise. Thanks for the recipe, I know it will be used again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
I looove Italian hoagies, so this is right up my alley. I go the Strip District (Pittsburgh thing) and get quality meats and cheeses: ham, spicy capicola, salami, pepperoni, and provolone. For the dressing: 1 cup mayonnaise, 1/4 cup sour cream, 1 T red wine vinegar, 2 T Italian Dressing, 2 t dried oregano. I like it cooked, but that's how I like my hoagies. In which case I serve the onions, hot pepper rings, lettuce and tomato on the side. I serve with lighly toasted french bread rounds. Also, my friends call this "deconstructed hoagie." I think it's an accurate description!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnasBananas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
I have had this before and i was always asking for the recipe and no one wanted to give it up! Now i have it!!! This is great! I added blended olive oil and a little balsamic vinegar. I think next time i will leave them both out. It didn't really make that big of a difference. This was great! Also I ommit the onion. I don't like onion on my hoagie therefore i left it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
I made this exactly as the recipe stated and took it to a huge SuperBowl party with lots of college-aged folks and people did not like it. I came home with 95%. Will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
I made this for New Year's Eve with a few tablespoons of red wine vinegar and it was terrific! It was a huge hit - over 30 people gave it a thumbs up! My brother-in-law told me I needed to make this for every gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2003
This was phenomenal-my entire bunco group asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2002
I have a card group in my home on occasion and served it. It was a BIG hit. My daughter took the leftovers to school with her and took a baggie of hoagie bread slices. My family loved it. I used sliced American cheese and stacked it up to slice. I also use home grown tomatoes. I will make this alot more in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

BLT Dip

Chopped crispy bacon and fresh tomato mix it up with creamy sour cream and mayo.

Jalapeno Popper Spread

It tastes just like the jalapeno poppers you love!

Hot Artichoke Spinach Dip

Your guests will love this versatile, cheesy warm dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States