Hoagie Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I used shredded sharp cheddar instead of american. I used green onions (About six, a whole bunch) and I used a whole package of chopped Romanita tomatoes. For the "dressing" to make it more like a hoagie you buy at the sandwich shop, I did half mayo/half sour cream (I was running low on mayonnaise due to the family inhaling the devilled eggs.....) and added in one dry package italian seasoning mix and one batch dry ranch dressing mix and because there was oregano in the dressing mix, I didn't add the extra. I used day old hoagie rolls from the discount rack that I rubbed with garlic and just stuck in the oven to crisp up a bit. We all loved this. LOVED it. With these changes, it was really off the charts insane.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Excellent. Added a few tablespoons of sub oil to the mayo. Have served it in a glass dish and in a carved out loaf of bread. Prefer the bread presentation as it looks better, more like a submarine sandwich, but also it absorbs the mayo/oil and doesn't get all runny like it does in the glass dish. I mix up the mayo mixture and chop the meats/cheese a few days in advance so there's less to do on the day of the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
This was very good!! Made as written, but used Pepper Jack cheese in place of American, and omitted the lettuce, as it was only the two of us, and with making half a recipe, I knew we would not eat it all at one setting, and I was worried about a lot of wilted lettuce. Thanks for a great Appy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
This was a really good dip. Looks like this recipe would make a really large quantity so I used just a fraction of each ingredient. Very quick and easy. Im not even a big fan of lunchmeat in general and I really liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
This is awesome. I use provolone instead of the American cheese. Definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
A hometown favorite in Philly. A few suggestions to make it even better--1. roll one slice of cheese, ham and salami together to make a thin roll, then slice across. this tip not only makes for a more presentable dip but also lessons the amount of mayo in every bit, which is good for those who are not huge mayo fans 2. unless you are serving this to italians, use hard salami, i think most people prefer it 3. try a 1/2 teaspoon of dill along with the oregano/mayo mix, it adds a great pickled flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
the best ever! made it for a little get together and everyone was raving about it. will definitely make again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisaadunbar

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I had to keep tweaking this one to get the right taste. I added mustard and horseradish, swiss cheese and extra mayo. People liked it. It did make abit too much. I will half it next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
We love this! I loved it as a kid, when one of my aunts used to make it, and I was so happy to rediscover the recipe here and find that my family still loves it. You can easily adjust/doctor up this recipe to suit your own tastes... For me, being from So. Jersey, I like cutting the mayo with sour cream, adding plenty of oregano and Itianian spice, and a good amount of red wine vinegar -- it just wouldn't taste like a hoagie without the vinegar and oregano! I have served this with fresh sliced baguette (though I do love the idea of hollowing out a round loaf for a bread bowl -- will have to try that). I also once heated up frozen rolls when I had bought everything in advance and couldn't get out the day of for fresh bread -- Alexia's makes some great ones (can't remember if they were French or sourdough) -- not cheap, but in a pinch... Will be making this regularly, now that I have rediscovered the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Moorestown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
I love this Dip.... I make it when we go to parks or parties. It is so easy to make and is a great lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Milliner

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Fulda, Hessen, Germany
Living In: Hornell, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

BLT Dip

Chopped crispy bacon and fresh tomato mix it up with creamy sour cream and mayo.

Jalapeno Popper Spread

It tastes just like the jalapeno poppers you love!

Hot Artichoke Spinach Dip

Your guests will love this versatile, cheesy warm dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States