Hoagie Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This dip is amazing!! I have made it several times and it is always the hit of the party. Did I mention I am a Philly girl too? So, I know all about good hoagies. I do add red wine vinegar to this b/c a hoagie is not a hoagie without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
Everyone loves it at my football parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
This recipe rocks!! My husband and kids loved it. Instead of fresh oregano, however, I used a couple of teaspoons of Good Seasons Italian Dressing made with balsamic vinegar and mixed it in with the mayo. This may appear on my Super Bowl buffet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimberly218

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
This was ok. Tasted like ham salad or something. I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Glenwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
Just awesome. Made this for New Years Eve party and was a hit! Super yummy and everyone was saying how much it tastes like a hoagie. I put the tomato, onion and lettuce off to the side of the dip so it didn't get soggy or too wet. Served with crusty bread chunks. I used ham, genoa salami and provolone cheese. P.S. You can get away with using low fat mayo with this since the flavors are strong and you do not get the usual overwhelming tanginess the low fat stuff leaves in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Everyone loves when I make Italian Sub Dip! I changed the recipe slightly because - I wanted it to refelct a more traditional italian sub. I use provolone cheese not american and I also add oil and vinegar (use mayo too but less mayo than called for). Try it you can taste the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Like the other reviewers we omitted the lettuce and tomato and added red wine vinegar. We didn't really like it, so we baked it for a little while. It turned out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CooperCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Algonquin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
so simple and so tasty. I'm from philly so this is really an authentic taste. I personally don't like salami in any form so I substituted turkey for it and provolone for the american and my entire office loved it. added a little more oregano too (maybe b/c mine is older and not as potent. they ate the entire recipe in a morning and this makes A LOT! very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
I halved this recipe and it still made a ton! Fed 6 adults, and there was still a lot leftover. I added 1 T. red wine vinegar. The dip was incredibly good, did taste exactly like an Italian Hoagie, but was not my favorite dish out that day. However, all of my guests were freaking out over it! And, one of my best friends said that I have to bring it to any party she has in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marlena C.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
This is awesome, and I'm a Philly girl, and I know my hoagies. It's really easy to make, and the stuff just disappears when you put it out on the table. At the deli I ask for shaved ham and just shred that with my fingers. I also add some red wine vinegar as well. I don't add the tomatoes and lettuce to the dip, but layer it on top or around the edges. There's nothing worse than limp lettuce mixed into the dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Round Hill, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

BLT Dip

Chopped crispy bacon and fresh tomato mix it up with creamy sour cream and mayo.

Jalapeno Popper Spread

It tastes just like the jalapeno poppers you love!

Hot Artichoke Spinach Dip

Your guests will love this versatile, cheesy warm dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States