Hoagie Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
We love this! I loved it as a kid, when one of my aunts used to make it, and I was so happy to rediscover the recipe here and find that my family still loves it. You can easily adjust/doctor up this recipe to suit your own tastes... For me, being from So. Jersey, I like cutting the mayo with sour cream, adding plenty of oregano and Itianian spice, and a good amount of red wine vinegar -- it just wouldn't taste like a hoagie without the vinegar and oregano! I have served this with fresh sliced baguette (though I do love the idea of hollowing out a round loaf for a bread bowl -- will have to try that). I also once heated up frozen rolls when I had bought everything in advance and couldn't get out the day of for fresh bread -- Alexia's makes some great ones (can't remember if they were French or sourdough) -- not cheap, but in a pinch... Will be making this regularly, now that I have rediscovered the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Moorestown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
I love this Dip.... I make it when we go to parks or parties. It is so easy to make and is a great lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Milliner

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Fulda, Hessen, Germany
Living In: Hornell, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Not everyone eats their hoagie the same way, so even though I tweaked this recipe I still gave it 5 stars. I had the grocer chip the meat so it was very easy to pull apart instead of slicing. Used Provolne, a little extra onion and red pepper hoagie spread. I put the shredded lettuce on top instead and sprinkled it with a little chopped tomatoe and mild banana pepper slices. I served it on french bread slices. I made only half of the recipe and it was still a lot of dip. My family loved it. It's definitely a keeper .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heide

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Magnolia, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
Always a winner. I also like adding either provolone or swiss cheese. And it's fun to serve in a hollowed out bread bowl. Then it's good to the last drop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SALLYANNIO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
This was excellent. I too am from the Philly area and it tasted just like a hoagie. I took as other had suggested and added the red wine vinegar. I also, for presentation, hallowed out the inside of a large loaf of bread. Many people at the party said they wanted to just pick up the loaf and eat it. They absolutely loved it and so did I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
WOW this tasted just like a hogie 6 ppl asked for the recipe so i guess it's a keeper served it on little rye rounds of bread thank you for an exceptional recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ren Causley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownstown, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I made this last night for Halloween, like others I drizzled red wine vinegar over the top and I also added about a tablespoon of sourcream to the mayo. I also halfed it and it still made quite a bit. I got alot of positive feedback from the family! I will definitely make again, maybe for the Super Bowl! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaraJane78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Mixed feelings about this dip. I mixed all the ingredients except the mayo and tasted it and loved it! Then I added the mayo and was dissapointed- I just don't think the flavor of mayo goes well with hoagies. Philly hoagies are made with oil and that's what I'm used to and love. I may make this again, but I'll leave out the mayo and top the bread rounds with the mixture before serving, like a bruschetta topping, instead of serving it as a dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Ruppenstein Dunegan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
I looove Italian hoagies, so this is right up my alley. I go the Strip District (Pittsburgh thing) and get quality meats and cheeses: ham, spicy capicola, salami, pepperoni, and provolone. For the dressing: 1 cup mayonnaise, 1/4 cup sour cream, 1 T red wine vinegar, 2 T Italian Dressing, 2 t dried oregano. I like it cooked, but that's how I like my hoagies. In which case I serve the onions, hot pepper rings, lettuce and tomato on the side. I serve with lighly toasted french bread rounds. Also, my friends call this "deconstructed hoagie." I think it's an accurate description!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnasBananas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
I wrote this recipe down and added it to my collection about a year ago but never got around to making it but today i went to a bridal shower and they had this out as one of the appitizers.....I must say it was DELICIOUS!!!!!!! I absolutely loved it and plan to make it over and over and over!! The taste is just like you were eating a regular hoagie....INCREDIBLE taste!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boyertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

BLT Dip

Chopped crispy bacon and fresh tomato mix it up with creamy sour cream and mayo.

Outrageous Warm Chicken Nacho Dip

Cheese dip loaded with chicken, tomatoes, black beans and a zip of spice.

Jalapeno Popper Spread

It tastes just like the jalapeno poppers you love!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States