Hoagie Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2003
I have one word, W O W. This is one good recipe. My out of town guests for Philly that it was a Hogie, the others thought it was a sub, while others thought it was a grinder. No matter what you call it, this is a wow. I have read each of the reviews and took some of the advise, added both red wine vinegar and balsomic and about 1 teaspoon of sugar. One word of caution, do not judge this until you add the lettuce and tomato, these two put this over the top. Thank you for this recipe. I will make it many times. NJ
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Angola, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2003
I served this at hubby's poker party. They licked the bowl clean. The only thing I did differently was to use 1/3 Miracle Whip, 1/3 lite mayo, and 1/3 lite sour cream b/c my husband doesn't care for large quantities of mayo. He said it rated four stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2003
This was phenomenal-my entire bunco group asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
This was fantastic! I decided to make this for the grown ups at my son's 3rd birthday party. Everyone was crazy about it. It really did taste just like a hoagie (or sub as we Canadians call them). I took the advice of previous reviewers and added 1 tbsp of red wine vinegar to the mixture. I also just finely chopped up all the meat with a knife and stacked the cheese to cut that up. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Uxbridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2003
Very tasty. This is something different to take to a party. It takes some time to prepare and cut everything, but once it's combined....very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GGDOMINIC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2003
I've never made the above recipe. I do have another way I make it though. We use a 1/4lb of each: capicola ham, provolone cheese, pepperoni, salomi and bologna. I also do add the mayo, oregano, onion, pepper and lettuce. I don't put in tomato since I don't like it. We cut the lunchmeat up in small peices though, I don't rip it. If you try these other ingredients, let me know how it was. Joanne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
Excellent! To be authentic - use red wine vinegar instead of balsamic. Tastes like home! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
I made this exactly as the recipe stated and took it to a huge SuperBowl party with lots of college-aged folks and people did not like it. I came home with 95%. Will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
Awesome dip/spread! I sliced a baguette into 1/2 slices and party guests made little sandwiches. It does taste just like a hoagie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
I have had this before and i was always asking for the recipe and no one wanted to give it up! Now i have it!!! This is great! I added blended olive oil and a little balsamic vinegar. I think next time i will leave them both out. It didn't really make that big of a difference. This was great! Also I ommit the onion. I don't like onion on my hoagie therefore i left it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

BLT Dip

Chopped crispy bacon and fresh tomato mix it up with creamy sour cream and mayo.

Outrageous Warm Chicken Nacho Dip

Cheese dip loaded with chicken, tomatoes, black beans and a zip of spice.

Jalapeno Popper Spread

It tastes just like the jalapeno poppers you love!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States