Ho Ho Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
Okay, at first I really wasn't sure if I liked this cake. BUT, the next day, it was wonderful. Once the chocolate on top really had time to set and harden, it was the best! I think if I make it again, I will cut the cake horizontally and fill the cake with the icing, then pour the chocolate on top the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
I'm giving this 4 stars because the filling is EXCELLENT (when it comes out right)!! Sometimes it comes out perfect and other times it has a strange texture and doesn't get fluffy. When that happens it seems like it's when the butter is added so the next time I make this I'm going to try using all shortening (as bad as it is for you) and experiment with powdered sugar -to avoid the graininess granulated sugar can sometimes produce. I've piped the filling into mini chocolate cupcakes (we've even frozen them & eaten them right out of the freezer -yum), I've layered it between yellow cake rounds, I've filled cream puffs with it... the possibilities are endless! I searched for a long time for a filling like this and it is really great. I'll experiment a little more and report back. UPDATE: for the filling I tried all shortening & powdered sugar instead of granulated (adding a little at a time to get the right sweetness) and it was perfect! A whole cup of shortening is really bad for you but it tastes so good. That sounds really grose but it's true. --I'll definitely only make this for special occasions but it is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 6MOUTHS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
If you want a creamier tasting filling, try this. Cream together 1 1/4 Cup confectioners sugar, 1/2 Cup butter or margarine, 1/2 Cup Crisco, 1/8 tsp. salt, 1 tsp. vanilla. Add to flour/milk mixture as directed. This is for those who don't like the Crisco taste or the graininess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SILERAE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salina, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
I couldn't seem to get the cream filling to whip. I've had problems with this kind of frosting in the past, and I don't know what I'm doing wrong. Could someone pleeeeeeeease explain to me exactly HOW to get the filling nice and fluffy? _________________________________________________________ EDIT EDIT EDIT EDIT EDIT EDIT: alright, I see what I was doing wrong. In an attempt at making it trans-fat-free I tried using butter/margarine instead of CRISCO. Bad idea. The shortening is what makes it fluffy and stable. I suggest putting 1/4 cup less of margarine/butter and 1/4 cup for shortening. Clear vanilla preserves it's white, appealing color. Overall, I change my rating to 4 stars, as it still lacked some flavor (although that's how a ho ho's cream filling is supposed to taste like.) _________________________________________________________ 4*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ElliexthexCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
Off the charts. This was the best recipe. I am a big fan of ho-ho's and this cake taste even better. I loved the cream filling. I did as other reviews suggested I used one and a half cups of sugar and dissolved it in the milk and flour mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
The cream was not as delicious as I had hoped, pretty flavorless even with vanilla added. The glaze on top was difficult to work with. The cake was OK, I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
The overall taste was good although I was scared by the sample taste an hour after it was assembled (gets better overnight in fridge). If I make again, I would combine sugar in the flour/milk mixture to ensure that it "melts" so as to avoid the grainy texture if following original recipe directions. Still, the white "cream" middle layer does have a weird feel on the tongue and is rather bland but when combined with cake and chocolate glaze topping, somehow works. Mixed reviews (75% approval rating) from those who had a piece. Give it a try...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
This cake was so tasty. I took it to a birthday party and got nothing but rave reviews. I read the other reviews and i decided to use a can of chocolate frosting microwaved for a few seconds, then i just poured it over the cake. that worked well. and i was concerned about the cream being gritty, so i poured in the milk while it was still slightly warm, but not hot enough to melt the butter and then beat it for 12 minutes and it turned out great. i just wanted to eat the whole bowl of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
This cake is very rich and is not ment for diabetics. When I made it I did not have any shortning so I used Margarine instead. Took it to work everyone raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
The origional recipe calls for a jiffy cake mix and that is only a 9oz size a HoHo is thin so the 9 is right.15min in 9x13. If you can,t find the 9oz (I couldn't for a while)just use 1/2 a cake mix and make the rest into cup cakes. If you have a fear of raw eggs use egg beaters. I also ure liquid chocolate(choco bake) for the topping eliminates the need to melt chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States