Ho Ho Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
Okay, at first I really wasn't sure if I liked this cake. BUT, the next day, it was wonderful. Once the chocolate on top really had time to set and harden, it was the best! I think if I make it again, I will cut the cake horizontally and fill the cake with the icing, then pour the chocolate on top the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
I'm giving this 4 stars because the filling is EXCELLENT (when it comes out right)!! Sometimes it comes out perfect and other times it has a strange texture and doesn't get fluffy. When that happens it seems like it's when the butter is added so the next time I make this I'm going to try using all shortening (as bad as it is for you) and experiment with powdered sugar -to avoid the graininess granulated sugar can sometimes produce. I've piped the filling into mini chocolate cupcakes (we've even frozen them & eaten them right out of the freezer -yum), I've layered it between yellow cake rounds, I've filled cream puffs with it... the possibilities are endless! I searched for a long time for a filling like this and it is really great. I'll experiment a little more and report back. UPDATE: for the filling I tried all shortening & powdered sugar instead of granulated (adding a little at a time to get the right sweetness) and it was perfect! A whole cup of shortening is really bad for you but it tastes so good. That sounds really grose but it's true. --I'll definitely only make this for special occasions but it is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 6MOUTHS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
If you want a creamier tasting filling, try this. Cream together 1 1/4 Cup confectioners sugar, 1/2 Cup butter or margarine, 1/2 Cup Crisco, 1/8 tsp. salt, 1 tsp. vanilla. Add to flour/milk mixture as directed. This is for those who don't like the Crisco taste or the graininess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SILERAE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salina, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
I couldn't seem to get the cream filling to whip. I've had problems with this kind of frosting in the past, and I don't know what I'm doing wrong. Could someone pleeeeeeeease explain to me exactly HOW to get the filling nice and fluffy? _________________________________________________________ EDIT EDIT EDIT EDIT EDIT EDIT: alright, I see what I was doing wrong. In an attempt at making it trans-fat-free I tried using butter/margarine instead of CRISCO. Bad idea. The shortening is what makes it fluffy and stable. I suggest putting 1/4 cup less of margarine/butter and 1/4 cup for shortening. Clear vanilla preserves it's white, appealing color. Overall, I change my rating to 4 stars, as it still lacked some flavor (although that's how a ho ho's cream filling is supposed to taste like.) _________________________________________________________ 4*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ElliexthexCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
Off the charts. This was the best recipe. I am a big fan of ho-ho's and this cake taste even better. I loved the cream filling. I did as other reviews suggested I used one and a half cups of sugar and dissolved it in the milk and flour mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
The cream was not as delicious as I had hoped, pretty flavorless even with vanilla added. The glaze on top was difficult to work with. The cake was OK, I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
The overall taste was good although I was scared by the sample taste an hour after it was assembled (gets better overnight in fridge). If I make again, I would combine sugar in the flour/milk mixture to ensure that it "melts" so as to avoid the grainy texture if following original recipe directions. Still, the white "cream" middle layer does have a weird feel on the tongue and is rather bland but when combined with cake and chocolate glaze topping, somehow works. Mixed reviews (75% approval rating) from those who had a piece. Give it a try...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
This cake was so tasty. I took it to a birthday party and got nothing but rave reviews. I read the other reviews and i decided to use a can of chocolate frosting microwaved for a few seconds, then i just poured it over the cake. that worked well. and i was concerned about the cream being gritty, so i poured in the milk while it was still slightly warm, but not hot enough to melt the butter and then beat it for 12 minutes and it turned out great. i just wanted to eat the whole bowl of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
This cake is very rich and is not ment for diabetics. When I made it I did not have any shortning so I used Margarine instead. Took it to work everyone raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
The origional recipe calls for a jiffy cake mix and that is only a 9oz size a HoHo is thin so the 9 is right.15min in 9x13. If you can,t find the 9oz (I couldn't for a while)just use 1/2 a cake mix and make the rest into cup cakes. If you have a fear of raw eggs use egg beaters. I also ure liquid chocolate(choco bake) for the topping eliminates the need to melt chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States