Ho Ho Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
AWESOME! I have made this into a birthay cake and CUPCAKES. Everyone loves it!! One warning: When making the chocolate, make sure to put the melted cocoa in last. Otherwise you will end up with little chocolate lumps, and it won't work as a frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
This recipe tasted good. I just could not get over the filling made out of crisco. I am pregnant and I was really craving sweets. When I actually made it I was not into the filling. I did add 1/2 cup confectioners sugar and 1 tsp. of vanilla and it tasted fine. If I did not know what was in it I might have loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
I've just recently made this cake for my family. They are all chocoholics and absolutely loved this cake. If you follow the recipe as it is written (Using an 18.5 oz cake mix!), it works very well. Whipping the filling ingredients does make it lighter and creamier. Those are the only changes that I made and it turned out wonderful. Thanks for a great recipe and I will be making it again. P.S. Good things come to those that wait! Don't try to rush through this cake. Give every part ample time to cool before proceeding. The recipe does say "cool completely". Baking a good cake is like cooking a good meal: it's well planned and well executed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MiLyCu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Terrell, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
I made this for my son's birthday, everyone loved it. I made sure to beat the filling for 12 min. and added the vanilla.....!! very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
was cravign this after a recent potluck we were at! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kdgengler

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
Kids did not like. I added vanilla to filling as I thought it needed something...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1SWILSON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Totally decadent, save this one for when you want a rich dessert. Kids totally love, and adults, unless they are on a diet or you tell them what is ACTUALLY in that filling, will eat it also. This recipe is really like a ho ho. They are good, but you don't really need to discuss what is in them. Just eat this and try not to feel guilty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Actually, I would have rated it a four if not for all the compliments I got on it. I would have rated it four stars because I didn’t like the filling, it tasted like Crisco. Apparently, a lot of people don’t know what Crisco tastes like because they asked what the filling was made of! I took a couple suggestions. I used devil’s food cake mix, used butter instead of margarine, creamed the filling for 10 min. and used a pasteurized egg. It turned out fine. One thing I would not skip out on is the chocolate glaze! It tasted awesome and it poured beautifully over the top. I will use that glaze recipe again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kittyluv0508

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
The filling has 0 flavor. Tastes like shortening and flour. If you're craving a ho ho just go buy one. This recipe tastes nothing like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Darla O
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
We really liked this cake! My husband's favorite cake ever is the "Saunders Bumpy Cake" and this was close enough to please even him. Even better the second day! Store in fridge! Based on other reviews I followed recipe except for replacing the white sugar with caster (superfine) sugar to avoid any graininess. Cream filling sets-up in fridge and we liked the firmer texture. Family calls this recipe a "definite do-over"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darla O

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States