Hillbilly Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
I like this pie, but do think it is too sweet. I've tinkered with adding less sugar and adding a little flour to help thicken it. I've also tried simply adding less sugar. Neither of those worked perfectly. I might try tinkering a little more, because I really do like it. I just wish it wasn't quite so sweet.///Update: on a side note, I had real pecan pie this summer (I live overseas), and this is not even a close substitute. I still like this pie, but can't compare it to pecan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blackhighheels

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
I was intrigued by the name but I did not care for this- not worth the time or ingredients :O(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Very fast to make and does taste good. However my family didn't find it to be outstanding. I may make this again in a time crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gainesville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
i made 2 of these pies and my husband and 17 year old son loved them before bed time i had 1 whole pie and 2 slices off the other one left..it was a hit.we will be making these agian prob gonna be a reg thing..my son said that looks gross as i was mixing it and all.later that day he called and said mom it might have looked bad but it dang sure taste great.LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Opp, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I added the chocolate chips as suggested and the pie turned out really well. Without some extra flavor like the chocolate or nuts, I think the pie would have had great crunch and texture but bland flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
Pretty good. Gave my boyfriend a chance to see what pecan pie tastes like since he's allergic to nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
This pie sounded great and even smelled wonderful while baking, but the flavor was bland and it tasted nothing like pecan pie. I took it to a dinner for 12, and it was 12 thumbs down for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Honestly, I made this pie because I liked the name, and I like to make fun of my redneck family. Little did I know, this will be one of my favorite baked pies. Will defiantly make for thanksgiving this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by St. Pauli Girl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
This is a good substitute for those who can't eat nuts anymore. It isn't as sweet as most pecan pies. I like that. It is a cross between a pecan pie and an oatmeal cookie. Even though there's no cinnamon, the impression is oatmeal cookie. The oatmeal became softer as it set. My pie is completely gone 12 hours later. Good, but not what I was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Tastes good but like oatmeal pie not pecan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States